We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cosy little hotel near the old city center”
Review of Hotel New Damshire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel New Damshire
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Helsinki
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A cosy little hotel near the old city center”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

My room was up on the 4th floor with windows to the sky and a view towards the neighbouring church and house roofs. Very nice and peacefull room. Very kind staff. Good breakfast. Reasonablypriced taxis. Very nice old village. Extremely nice people.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auli51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    36
    11
    2
See reviews for
10
24
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

I've been at this hotel a number of times and in many other hotels in town as well, but the New Damshire offers the best quality for price. Hotel is clean, efficient, sober and well kept. Staff has always been very kind and supportive, rooms are mid-sized with enough space for a work desk, bathroom and wardrobe. Furniture is quite basic, but clean and well kept. Sleeping has always been comfortable and not noisy. Very useful to know that there's free cable internet available in each room (no Wifi though). Moreover it is very close to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAnotherUser74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Good: Very nice staff, location, and ok breakfast
Bad - really bad: Extremely loud - could e.g. hear the snoring of my neighbor and also the alarm clocks from lots of rooms and the pillows which were very high and hard and one could feel the pieces of foam rubber inside.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorelDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leuven hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Hotel New Damshire is located near Leuven's Old Market (Oude Markt), but is far enough away that you won't have to worry about loud, late-night revelers. The location is really great as a base-camp for seeing Leuven, though you'd be better served staying somewhere nearer the train station (on the east end of town) if you're using Leuven as a base-camp for seeing the rest of Belgium.

The staff, though, really set New Damshire apart from other, comparably priced hotels in Leuven. They go out of their way to help you find your way in the city, and their recommendations are the perfect mix of affordable, traveler friendly, and unique.

In addition, you're treated to a traditional Belgian breakfast of tea, coffee, rolls, croissants, jams, etc. each morning. There's also a bar on the ground level.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bullsear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benidorm, Spain
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2011

I don't have anything against basic, comfortable, clean hotels but this one wasn't really comfortable. The room was rather small with an extremely basic closet (not a single drawer in the whole room). The mattresses sagged and were very uncomfortable and the pillows seemed to be made out of god knows what, very lumpy and weird shaped. The room gave a general impression of cheapness.

The bathroom had only two lights and one of them had burnt, so there was only one tiny light to illuminate the bathroom. There was no hot water in the shower in the morning (maybe because my room was at the end of the hallway) I had to wait until night to get hot water in the shower. There was black mold on the ceiling of the bathroom.

The room was very cold in the morning and the lighting was awful.

The elevator did not reach all the floors.

Breakfast buffet was good but coffee was absolutely horrible and there wasn't enough staff for breakfast (or the one person working at the breakfast buffet was very inefficient) so dirty dishes and cups piled up on many empty tables.

Staff were OK, not very friendly but not rude either.

Overall I thought that it was too expensive for what was provided.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieFogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for four nights instead of camping for the Rock Werchter music festival. We also had a friend stay with us so had a triple room with two beds pushed together for us.

The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk from the train station which is where the festival buses left from. The walk was straight through the centre of Leuven and the hotel would be ideally placed if you wanted to spend a couple of extra days exploring - we only managed to wander around for one of the mornings.

The staff at the hotel were extremely polite and friendly. They were happy to make conversation and ask how we were enjoying the festival. They also helped out with directions for things like shops that would be open on Sunday.

The room was clean, tidy and spacious enough that the three of us easily fit in without a problem. We had the corner room on the top floor which was in the loft space with a slanted roof and the dimensions meant that there wasn't quite enough room for a shower which meant a bit of extra coordination to wash with the bath+hose but no major difficulty. It also included air-conditioning which was perfect for a couple of the days with temperatures above 35 celsius.

The continental breakfast included with the room was up to standard and the hotel included a bar (not that we used it during our stay).

Overall, I'd happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay at Leuven or attending Rock Werchter.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2010

Stayed in this hotel night before and after an interview. Hotel is very clean and staff very helpful and location is excellent if a tourist. There is no room service or food available at the hotel in the evening although there is a small bar, however it is very close to the main square which has loads of cafes etc. The bad side to the hotel is that I managed to only get minimal sleep on the night before the interview as the noise from outside the hotel was terrible until 4AM (I stayed in a room at the front of the hotel). The cause being drunk students shouting and singing. Building workers near the hotel then started banging about at 6:30AM. The next night I asked to be moved to a room at the back of the hotel and the staff were very accommodating. Had a much better night sleep. I therefore recommend that if you stay here request a room at the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SImonBrahmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.3 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 17 in Leuven
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Leuven
264 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#6 of 17 in Leuven
444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel New Damshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Damshire

Property: Hotel New Damshire
Address: Schapenstraat 1, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Damshire 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel New Damshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing