We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really welcoming and excellent place to eat”

Bistro Julia en Elias
Ranked #12 of 511 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

This is a restaurant with a long history that continues to deliver a really good dining experience. The ambience is warm comfortable and welcoming. Tables are well spaced. Service is helpful and efficient. The menu offered a good level of choice and a number of interesting dishes. All that we ordered was beautifully presented and wonderfully cooked. Portions are not over large but our three course meal provided just right amount of food. We ate in two other good restaurants in Leuven but this was our favourite and would be first choice if we return there.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 197philw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed the food here. Prepared with real attention to detail and very well matched flavours and ingredients. Recommended !

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Family_travelling972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2018

We went there in a group. Food was very nice and service friendly and efficient. Would certainly go back there.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Oepgepastsnoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2018

I organized a conference in Leuven with people from all continents, on Tuesday evening we had dinner for a group of 45 people. We had arranged for everything in advance: we asked for a quick, early service because there was a planned ABInbev brewery visit at 19h00. So we arranged for a two course meal/water&wine/coffee&tea for 45 euros. We occupied the whole restaurant with our group, we had chosen the first courses and main courses on beforehand. All worked out very well, the owners really walked the extra mile to meet our demanding time schedule. Food was good, wine was good, people were happy in this authentic restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gvodbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

We were doing a golf tour around Flanders with some tour operators and international journalists and finished our trip in Leuven. A vibrant student city we headed for Julia & Elias and the food was outstanding. The service was impeccable, the menu varied and the food exquisite. For sure an address to take note of.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jomaes66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Julia en Elias also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Bistro Julia en Elias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing