We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“way too expensive for the level of comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Theater Hotel Leuven
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“way too expensive for the level of comfort”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is ridiculously overpriced. I paid US$206 per night to stay here. I would have given it three stars if it had been $100 per night. For $200, this is a terrible hotel. The rooms are small and beds even smaller. It is not air-conditioned. I have to leave the windows open and swat mosquitos constantly. Every morning, I wake up with my arms covered in mosquito bites.

For $200, the breakfast is mediocre. There are exactly three hot items: omelet with bacon bits, omelet with vegetables, vienna sausages (probably from a can). For such a limited selection, they should have at least varied what they serve but I stayed for seven nights and it was exactly the same menu everyday.

The location is good if your business is mainly in Leuven since it's right in the center of the town. But you are better off staying near the train station (where the bus station is also located) if you want better accessibility to Brussels and elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
17
53
15
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have stayed in Leuven numerous times and have tried lots of the hotels. I really loved this one! It is very centrally placed so everywhere is easy to get to. On my arrival I was greeted by an extremely pleasant chap who gave me all the info that I needed. Throughout the 3 nights that I stayed I met several of the reception staff and all were equally polite and accommodating. They lent me a plug adapter when mine didn't work and on my last morning when I had to leave before the official breakfast they gave me lots of fruit yoghurt and biscuits it he evening before and offered me a drink early in the morning. Breakfast was very nice and is served in an art gallery so one can look at sculptures and pictures whilst having a leisurely breakfast. The room was on two levels, it was very large and well equipped, the bed was comfy and all was very clean. The hotel offered free soft drinks from the room minibar due to the very hot weather and I appreciated that very much. There is excellent wifi in the hotel with a very strong signal in my room.
I parked my car in nearby ladeuseplein and the hotel offer a discounted rate which was a bonus.
All in all excellent. I will be back later in the year.

Room Tip: My room was on two levels, it was great for me and very Belgian, however if one had mobility problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeematch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Thanks we come every year when its marktrock and next year we come back. Very friendly staff. Good breafast. Mozerella mmmm. Different sort of eggs. Art in the hotel is nice. Cute hotel. Thanks for the free refreshments in the minibar by the way

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elkedemesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

A great hotel!! The staff have such a great service!! Always friendly, always with a smile and most helpfull!! The hotel is clean, nicely furnished, the location is perfect! 5 Min from the train station, main street, lots of great shopping and coffee shops! No doubt, ill visit again and most definatly recommend to all!! Stop looking.. you have found the perfect hotel in Leuven!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only stayed one night here but could have easily stayed more. A hundred metres or so away from the amazing Town Hall and right on the street with all the shops, this hotel is ideally located in Leuven. Ambience going up to the reception and the reception itself is nothing to write home about but this is more than made up for by the excellent service provided. I have hardly ever encountered more kindness and willingness to be helpful. Room decently sized - it was very hot but we had a fan and even free soft drinks from the minibar to make up for the excessive heat. That was appreciated. Breakfast room really nice with the food itself being enough for us. Have no problem recommending this hotel which comes reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed in Leuven one night and we couldn't have chosen a better location. The hotel is in the main shopping area and just 2 blocks from the beautiful town hall. We had the 2 level family suite and it was perfect for us and our 15 year-old daughter. Although it was unseasonably hot, they provided fans which helped a lot. The breakfast was amazing! The city is a great place to explore and the front desk was very helpful in planning our expolration. A great choice!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler1958Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great location almost in the town centre and in easy walking distance to the train station for a day trip to Brussels (a 20 minute journey), or the Leuven Beguinages (well worth a visit). The staff on the front desk, at breakfast and in the Cafe Leffe are excellent and really helpful. Stairs up to reception is a little unusual, the breakfast room is elegant with a fine variety of food choice. Rooms appear to be good sized but somewhat worn and unfortunately we had a room with a bathroom which had an unpleasant toilet smell. Issues: the rooms at the front can be noisy in student term time and those at the back are quiet. However, if the outside temperature exceeds 25C those at the back are very hot and sleeping is uncomfortable. There is no air conditioning and the fan provided was noisy and inefficient. Mosquitos are also room visitors, so take some spray or roll-on. We were a little unlucky but I can imagine there are also many very enjoyable stays and once again the staff were superb.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask to see the room before accepting it, or make concerns known early if on a 2 o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAAbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 17 in Leuven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#6 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 17 in Leuven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theater Hotel Leuven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theater Hotel Leuven

Property: Theater Hotel Leuven
Address: Bondgenotenlaan 20, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Theater Hotel Leuven 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Theater Hotel Leuven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leuven Theater Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing