We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Theater Hotel Leuven
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Leuven is a stunning city and the Theater Hotel is right in the centre. Parking can be tricky to find due to one-way systems but it's underground and apparently pretty secure. A warm and friendly welcome. Our room here, though large, was dated but it had a pleasant balcony overlooking an attractive street. Soon as they refurbish the room we'll give this hotel top marks.

Room Tip: Maybe ask to see one or two of them first in case.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

Located in the centre of Leuven, you can just get any interesting place walking!
Friendly and helpfull staff, nice breakfast. If you arrive by car, there's a car park near, with hotel discounts - informations at the reception desk. If I return to Leuven, the hotel is already choosen!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lagartinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Theater hotel is centrally located in historical Leuven, just opposite theatre. Receptionist was extremely helpful - although I did not ask for, I got a map of Leuven plus a guide. Rooms are decent, spotless clean with beautiful view. Breakfast was plentiful, choice was excellent. Just lightning was more related to an art gallery than to a breakfast room.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blankaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Stayed for a week while visiting the Hospital at Gasthuizberg.
Brilliant location. Lovely views across to the theatre and when it snowed it would have been very romantic if I hadn't left my wife at home! Staff v friendly and helpful. Breakfast good. Very close to lotes of great bars/restaurants. However noise is an issue with v thin walls between rooms and if on the street side early morning wakening from the lorries supplying the nearby shops, with the odd rowdy student posse in the early hours. However would go back, although perhaps pack some ear plugs next time.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Escoces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

This hotel is well situated in the centre of Leuven, the staff are very friendly, the rooms are neat, tidy and very clean. The bathrooms look very fresh, clean and the shower is great. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splatt88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Once again the reviews on Tripadvisor for this hotel were spot on. The Theater Hotel really is a fine hotel and right in the center of Leuven. Finding the hotel could not be simpler, especially if arriving by train. You just leave the train station, walk directly down the first main road you see towards the steeple of the large church in the Grote Markt. At the end of this road on your left in the Theater Hotel, right next door to a Café Leffe.

On arrival we were greeted by the very friendly hotel manager. He spoke perfect English and took the time to provide us with a map of Leuven, to recommend sights, bars and restaruants and even point their locations out on the map.

Our room was on the first floor of the hotel, close to the amazing breakfast room which is situated in an art gallery. The rooms are typical European, small but full of character. The room had an ensuite bathroom, plasma TV, safe and a well stocked minibar. There is no air-conditioning in the room but a fan is provided and cools the room quite well. Also free soft drinks are offered from the minibar during warm weather.

The breakfast was fine continental fare; meat, cheese, bread, pastry, jams, fruit, yoghurts as well as omlettes and sausages. Breakfast is from 7 to 10 but usually stayed open a little later. There is also free internet in the hotel which is a bonus and a pc which any guest can use in the breakfast room.

The hotel's location is very central and is close to all the major attractions and dining areas. The rate was pretty resonable at 85euro per night per room.

In summary this is a fine hotel and well worth a visit if you're staying in Leuven

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This boutique hotel was an excellent choice for Leuven. On main street down from train station and very close to main square, restaurants, university, etc.

Room was modern and simple - IKEA type furniture, but very clean, very comfortable with good standards (and yes, I am fussy).

Breakfast - please get up and go eat. You will not be disappointed. Lots of good and very good variety. In addition, the breakfast is quite large - so you can eat alone and quiet if you need your peace in the morning.

I strongly recommend this hotel as an alternative to typical chain hotels - even for business people.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.4 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
0.2 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 18 in Leuven
1,451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 18 in Leuven
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.1 mi away
The Fourth - Tafelrond
The Fourth - Tafelrond
#9 of 18 in Leuven
15 reviews
0.7 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leuven
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Theater Hotel Leuven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Theater Hotel Leuven

Address: Bondgenotenlaan 20, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Price Range: $100 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Theater Hotel Leuven 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Theater Hotel Leuven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leuven Theater Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing