We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish hotel in the heart of Leuven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Klooster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at Martin's Klooster for two nights on a business trip and enjoyed my stay. Very nice hotel, close to the centre. I arrived in the morning and though the my room wasn't available, the staff were very helpful and I was able to get coffee and access to the wifi. The room was on the small side but very comfortable. Nicely decorated and well appointed. Large bath but just a flexible shower-head in the bath, no fixed shower. Very good breakfast was extra.

Only a couple of things on the downside. WiFi in my room wasn't brilliant, difficult connecting with my iPad and dropped out a few times. Lack of a restaurant and options for food were limited (though a good variety of cafés and restaurants just a few minutes walk away).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 834 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2013

I really liked this hotel. Stayed there only for one night, but had a wonderful, restful sleep. The room was very nice and cosy and the bathroom breathtaking!
I missed the old style of a Klooster a little bit as especially entrance, restaurant and bar is very modern. But that is really the only thing....
The staff was very friendly and professional and I would love to come back some day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This would be a five star review if the decor wasn't so... office like. Everything is dark grey with the odd sheer red patches. It really took the edge off what is otherwise a pretty nice hotel.
Apart from the decor, our room was nice - clean with a comfy bed, although not very big. The bathroom was very big, very nice walk in shower.
The breakfast room was small, but the buffet was reasonably good with hot and cold selections.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at Martin's Klooster and felt very pampered. The tastefully decorated room wasn't huge but it was excellently laid out to optimize space and nothing was lacking. In addition to free wireless internet, an in-room mini fridge and coffee or tea service, the huge bathroom offered a fabulous stall shower and enormous soaking tub with jets. Our king sized bed was extremely comfortable. Perhaps best of all, we enjoyed much-appreciated quiet. The hotel is a short walk to to shops and historic sites, but it's tucked away enough to be away from road or tourist noise.

Room Tip: Part of the hotel is a new expansion. Our room was in the new part and it was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryPope-Handy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We arrived at Martin's Klooster after a long and emotional journey by car only to find out that my booking was wrong (I accidentally input the wrong dates): the receptionist find us a room right away and they did not charge us any extra. The hotel is elegant and quiet: lots of nice details in the room to make you feel at home. service at breakfast was accommodating (we had 4 guests with us) and lively. they don't have restaurant for lunch or dinner it's a good excuse to go out and experience new places. We will definitively be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new ones and it was perfect, spacious and quiet, can not really say anything about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaffaDeG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in one of the modern rooms, which was well furnished, comfortable and super clean! Even with an extra bed made up for my son, there was still plenty of space left in the room. Big bathroom with a separate shower and tub. Staff was helpful and gracious. Great central location in Leuven. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LH95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Martin's proved nothing short of excellence, as usual. Upon asking the night receptionist where we could get some chocolate at 1:30 AM, he initially offered us his own. Naturally, we kindly refused, and got directions to the night shop around the corner. Above and beyond - very nice of him. The room was luxurious but a little chilly. The AC didn't seem to be working properly, but we didn't report it since it wasn't igloo cold, just a little brrr when we were changing clothes. Spacious room, perfect bed, giant bath tub and separate shower. A+ for cleanliness as always. We're definitely going back. Just not to the Klooster bar. If you put up a giant sign that says "Ask about our snacks", please don't point at the menu and take a sarcastic tone with me when I do.That's just rude.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persephone83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 18 in Leuven
1,451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.3 mi away
The Fourth - Tafelrond
The Fourth - Tafelrond
#9 of 18 in Leuven
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 18 in Leuven
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leuven
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Theater Hotel Leuven
Theater Hotel Leuven
#11 of 18 in Leuven
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Klooster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Klooster Hotel

Address: Onze-Lieve-Vrouwstraat 18, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Leuven
#1 Business Hotel in Leuven
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leuven
#2 Green Hotel in Leuven
Price Range: $127 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Klooster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16th-century former convent offers 4-star facilities and an attractive interior only 280 metres from the Oude Markt in the historic centre of Leuven. Martin’s includes a winter garden and a bar with a fireplace. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel.All of the rooms at Martin's Klooster are decorated with rich fabrics and warm colours. They come equipped with flat-screen cable TV, a minibar and a modern bathroom. Most have a walk-in shower. Some of the rooms feature wooden beams and latticed windows. Breakfast is served each day in the winter garden.M - Museum Leuven is 700 metres from the hotel. The UNESCO World Heritage-listed Beguinage is a 15-minute walk from Martin’s. Brussels is 27 km away and features sights including the Magritte Museum. There is paid parking underneath the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Klooster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klooster Hotel Leuven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing