We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Klooster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very interesting hotel which manages to combine modern style with an old historical building. Rooms in the new part of the hotel were well equipped and comfortable. Particularly enjoyed the bar (very helpful barman) but otherwise the service was efficient if a little cold. Public areas are very clean and well maintained and there is a convenient (if expensive) car park underneath the hotel. Not quite in the centre (Leuven is fairly small) but its only about 5 minutes walk away and the up side of this is that the hotel is very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonBurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (859)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 859 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

I've stayed here a number of times and it is easily the best hotel in that area of Leuven - by far. They now have a new entrance that you can drive up to and roll your luggage up to the reception desk. They've added lots of new, comfortably appointed, modern rooms. The new section is very cool and a completely different look and feel from the "old" section, which is darker and more traditional looking, but very comfortable. I really like this hotel. The staff is knowledgable and multi-lingual. There's no restaurant, but they do serve up a decent selection for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the "newer" section if you like a room with more natural light and a mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puffmome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Tucked away in Leuven, this former cloister is everything you want in a small, centrally located and luxurious hotel. Lovely, lobby/bar/seating area, nice breakfast and cozy rooms. I'll stay there again upon my return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

What a little gem hidden away ,the rooms are beautiful staff so helpful, and just a few steps away is beautiful leuvern centre. It must be seen to believe you can shop or just sit in one of many coffee shop and restustants.

Room Tip: The hotel provides breakfast but no meals , but just steps away their lots of places to eat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizabeth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OVandenStorme, Directeur général at Martin's Klooster Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear guest
Thanks a lot for your review. Our hotel is indeed a bit hidden away in the quiet streets of Leuven. But if comming by car, please put the address : "Minderbroederstraat" and then take the first street to the left. Indeed a lot of shops, and restaurant within walking distance of the hotel.
We can provide you a CityMap with our selection of restaurants upon arrival.
Or you can have a snack in our bar or garden terrace.
You can park your car in our underground parking. It is a secure parking with enough light and surveillance cameras. Thanks a lot for your revuiew, it helps our future guests.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean with plenty of space. very comfortable beds and showers. Close to everything but tucked away from all the noises.We were here on a business trip so I am not sure how much the company paid for our rooms. It was the last week in july, 21-26 ,2013. very hot humid weather. But the rooms were air conditioned and comfortable. They had kept a cold water dispenser in the lobby with real glasses(no plastic glasses). It was very thoughtful of them. Internet service was very good too. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shobhandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We are stating here as the first night of our honeymoon tour of Europe. The location ifls fantastic, a stones throw from the centre of Leuven.

We re lucky enough to have been upgraded from a standard room to a superior room. Its lovely, large and has views over the court yard.

We haven't actually been to bed yet, or tried breakfast, but so far, very good. A lovely hotel with an amazing courtyard and great building

A must stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaccdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Simply you will not beat this location, quiet out of the way but literally a minute walk to the nearby walking districts for restaurants, the center square, old market, and shopping. Loved the Underground parking. Nice quiet lounge but could use some help when it gets busy, only 1 barkeep. The center courtyard is cool and maybe some hammocks for those +30 hot days to laze in the lounge area with cold drinks would be cool. A ton of charachter, friendly accomadating staff, air conditioning, super comfy bed, cold drinks in the room bar. We stayed nearly a full week and would stay there again in a heartbeat and highly recommend it to anyone. Price also was good value for the unique surroundings, rooms, service, and for sure location.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 18 in Leuven
1,504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.6 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 18 in Leuven
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fourth - Tafelrond
The Fourth - Tafelrond
#9 of 18 in Leuven
25 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 18 in Leuven
711 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ibis Leuven Heverlee
Ibis Leuven Heverlee
#1 of 1 in Heverlee
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Klooster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Klooster Hotel

Address: Onze-Lieve-Vrouwstraat 18, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Leuven
#1 Business Hotel in Leuven
#2 Green Hotel in Leuven
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leuven
Price Range: $134 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Klooster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16th-century former convent offers 4-star facilities and an attractive interior only 280 metres from the Oude Markt in the historic centre of Leuven. Martin’s includes a winter garden and a bar with a fireplace. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel.All of the rooms at Martin's Klooster are decorated with rich fabrics and warm colours. They come equipped with flat-screen cable TV, a minibar and a modern bathroom. Most have a walk-in shower. Some of the rooms feature wooden beams and latticed windows. Breakfast is served each day in the winter garden.M - Museum Leuven is 700 metres from the hotel. The UNESCO World Heritage-listed Beguinage is a 15-minute walk from Martin’s. Brussels is 27 km away and features sights including the Magritte Museum. There is paid parking underneath the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Martin's Klooster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klooster Hotel Leuven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing