We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Klooster Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Inviting”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

In a quiet street within close walking distance of the vibrant centre. We were upgraded and had a large room with large bathroom. Everything was clean and the staff were friendly. Secure underground car park and good choice for breakfast. If you want dinner then there is a large choice of restaurants within close walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Onich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    298
    48
    13
    4
See reviews for
59
395
29
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zevenbergen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

For the second time we visit this hotel near centre of town. Again the hotel fulfill our expectations:
Modern layout, nice rooms with an excellent bathroom. And the beds are of a good standard.
The breakfast is outstanding as well as the service.
In the neighborhood are several good restaurants and of course in the city centre.
There is a free parking facility as you may not have a problem to walk 300 meters.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisgeldof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel is coveniently located, rooms large and comfortable with all usual amenities, including TV channels in English (BBC, ITV etc). Beds especially comfortable. Prices reasonable
Dpwnside, Firstly, I was plagued by a few mosquitos at night, which I couldn't understand as its in a big city, and Secondly there is only snack food available at night but pizzas etc can be had in the bar and there is a great selection of Belgian beers which compensate.

Room Tip: Can't advise, I suppose on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gs488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Martin's Klooster is tucked away in a picturesque corner of Leuven which is quiet while being within walking distance of the historic centre. It is a light and airy, modern and spotlessly clean conversion of an ancient building. This gives the hotel a lot of individual charm while having all the facilities that a current business traveller would expect.

An outstanding feature for business people is the well laid out conference centre annexed to the hotel. The secluded location and the smooth operation allow you to focus effectively on the business at hand.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

a nice modern hotel(non smoking) with limited parking, in the old historic centre of Leuven, good rooms with a nice overview at the garden, service very good, and an outstanding breakfast, I was there with some friends to play golf at 2 golfcourses (Keerbergen and Winge)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jancarla-dutchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is great and the rooms are excellent; for $100/night, you definitely get more than you pay for. However, the breakfast is a overpriced at 20 Euros, and the food isn't amazing. It's kind of tucked away, so make sure you know where you're going if you're walking from the train station. The station is about a 15-minute walk, perfectly doable in any weather.

Note: there's no room service and no tea/coffee amenities unless you're staying in a "premium" room, but you can get tea, coffee, and alcoholic beverages from the bar to take up to your room. It's definitely helpful if you want some tea or beer later in the evening, but it's extremely awkward to be walking around the hotel with a heavy tray, which is why I had to deduct a point from the rating. My advice to management would be to equip every room with basic tea/coffee amenities, which are standard for pretty much any hotel, even two-star Ibis properties. If given the choice, I'd swap half the size of the bathroom, which is large enough to throw a party in, for a kettle and a couple teabags in the room itself, saving me from balancing a glass teapot on a tray across the entire property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

On a recent visit to Belgium my husband and I spent one night at Martin's Klooster. Our room was big, the bathroom was huge, with a shower, a bathtub and a large window, the internet and the parking were free and the breakfast was very good. What else can you ask for when you pay 100 euros (summer special). The hotel is modern and very pleasant. The location is very good and quiet. We spent only one evening in Leuven - drinking beer in one of the so many restaurants and bars everywhere. I was sorry I did not have some extra time in this lovely place.
Ruth Jaffe

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruth j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 17 in Leuven
1,336 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.6 mi away
Begijnhof Hotel
Begijnhof Hotel
#8 of 17 in Leuven
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Theater Hotel Leuven
Theater Hotel Leuven
#9 of 17 in Leuven
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#7 of 17 in Leuven
446 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 17 in Leuven
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Klooster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Klooster Hotel

Property: Martin's Klooster Hotel
Address: Onze-Lieve-Vrouwstraat 18, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Leuven
#1 Luxury Hotel in Leuven
#2 Romantic Hotel in Leuven
#2 Family Hotel in Leuven
#2 Green Hotel in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Klooster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 16th-century former convent offers 4-star facilities and an attractive interior only 280 metres from the Oude Markt in the historic centre of Leuven. Martin’s includes a winter garden and a bar with a fireplace. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel.All of the rooms at Martin's Klooster are decorated with rich fabrics and warm colours. They come equipped with flat-screen cable TV, a minibar and a modern bathroom. Most have a walk-in shower. Some of the rooms feature wooden beams and latticed windows. Breakfast is served each day in the winter garden.M - Museum Leuven is 700 metres from the hotel. The UNESCO World Heritage-listed Beguinage is a 15-minute walk from Martin’s. Brussels is 27 km away and features sights including the Magritte Museum. There is paid parking underneath the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Martin's Klooster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Klooster Hotel Leuven

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing