We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond expectations”
Review of Cum Laude

Cum Laude
Ranked #10 of 511 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

Going for a luncheon with old schoolfriends, and I knew the Faculty Club as a hotel, but didn't expect to discover a gastronomic restaurant overhere....
Overall: very professional service, from welcoming,reception, to the waiting team.
We had the 'business lunch' and I really felt pampered.
With all attentions and/or dishes we got a top professional explanation from the "maitre" in charge of the service, really good!
Quality of the food and accompanying wine was of top standards.
This Faculty Club has great potentials in matters of meeting rooms, break out rooms, space for cocktails, weddings, briefly any type of event !
Even the parking facilities are well organised and available !
Easy access !

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 531marcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 180 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2019

This was our first meal at Cum Laude. We went for diner and based our choice on positive ratings on several booking sites. We choose the 4 course seasonal menu. It was preceded by 3 amuse bouche. The quality of the food surpsssed our expectations. The slow cooked saddle of lamb was sublime and probably the best lamb I ate since a long time. Only the desert, a combination of rubarb, goat milk's icecream and basil did not score highest marks. The little rubarb stripes where difficult to cut and therefore, disappeared well beforre the other ingredients. The restaurant locates inside the Grand Beguinage, a UNESCO World Heritage site and is part of the Universtiy of Leuven's Faculty Club, but open to the general public. The satff is very friendly and will do there best to fulfil your desires. We asked for a swift diner service and got it.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 79louh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Once again the quality of both dishes and service was excellent. It is always a pleasure being in these premises for lunch or dinner. Staff is very stylish and discrete. The setting is unique.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank MarcelL1683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2018

Dining at Cum Laude-Faculty club in Leuven is best explained by superlatives. Perfect service, great atmosphere and excellent, tasteful and beautifully executed food.

The club is located at the Groot Begijnhof and about 25 minutes walking distance from the station.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank A-flying-Dutchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Great food, great service and a very nice setting. The food was surprising, with small surprises in between the courses. I really recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fredrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cum Laude also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Heverlee, Leuven
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Cum Laude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing