We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!”
Review of Convento

Convento
Ranked #1 of 511 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $33
Cuisines: Belgian
Description: Winebar & Winebistro Have a luscious glass of one of the 30 wines (& beers) that are available by the glass, or choose a bottle from our winestore which consists of over 300 references from all over the world. In the winebar you can have some delicious small dishes, for which we cooperate with cheese master Elsen and traditional butcher Rondou. Furthermore there is a tasty bistro menu that will perfectly match your tasty glass of wine. Lovely for wine tasters and gourmets!
Restaurant details
Description: Winebar & Winebistro Have a luscious glass of one of the 30 wines (& beers) that are available by the glass, or choose a bottle from our winestore which consists of over 300 references from all over the world. In the winebar you can have some delicious small dishes, for which we cooperate with cheese master Elsen and traditional butcher Rondou. Furthermore there is a tasty bistro menu that will perfectly match your tasty glass of wine. Lovely for wine tasters and gourmets!
Reviewed May 3, 2019

From the welcome until the dessert it was a fantastic expercience! Lovely host, nice atmosphere, lovely food and fantastic wine! Always nice to go back!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FilipV639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 119 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2019

My husband and I went for dinner with a friend couple. The decor of the restaurant is very nice and cozy. The tables are not close to each other as in many other restaurants so you can have a nice private discussions during the dinner. We took the 3 (or 4) course men, all the dishes were simple but very well made with a nice little twist to make it original. The food was delicious and very well served. We took the wine pairing and the sommelier is very attentive and tries his hardest to get you a wine to your liking. The staff is overall extremely friendly and we had a wonderful dinner. The only minor point is that the food came very fast, since the food is delicious a slower pace would be better to fully enjoy the meal. Nevertheless, we will definitely come back as this is a gem of a place.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sophie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

We enjoyed the lunch formula (26€) Starter was a kind of ceviche of Sea Bass. The main course was candied duck leg with a Mediteranean quinoa. Both were delicious, original and creative. Convento offers a wide range of wines by the glas (from ranging 5 to 10€). There's also a mistery wine. If you recognise the grape, the glass is on the house. Service is friendly. The bread is home made and delicious.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

I just love this place. They have a limited menu but you are always sure to be blown away by the taste of their food and wine.
It is one of the very very few places I go and let them select a wine for me.
The restaurant is very beautiful and made so you can be relaxed and really in the moment while eating. No loud noices, enough privacy. Just perfect.
Be sure to make a reservation because due to their excellent quality there is a lot of demand for a table.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sophietjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2019 via mobile

This restaurant offers excellent food from a limited menu of really interesting dishes cooked to perfection. The staff were knowledgeable and helpful. There was a good choice of good quality wines at reasonable prices. A really pleasant place to have a leisurely meal

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 197philw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Convento also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing