We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent option but over-priced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Decent option but over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Ibis Budget is a decent option in Leuven. It is convenient for the train station but a 10-15 minute walk to the city centre/university buildings. Rooms are basic but include TV and fairly reliable WIFI. Bed was comfortable and shower hot and fast with rooms cleaned everyday.

However - it might be the generally high price of the city, but I think it is too expensive for what it is: around €65 for a single bed per night, no breakfast included. As other reviewers have noted, it feels more like a hostel with private rooms. There are also no kettle or fridge facilities in the room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djsage86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetLeuven, General Manager at Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
May I offer a personal thank you for sending a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Our pricing is comparable to similar properties in the area and we feel we provide good value for money as we are a budget hotel.
We regret that this was not your impression and offer our apologies.
We hope that the exeprience will not alter your confidence and that you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Michèle Deprez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    229
    106
    38
    18
See reviews for
85
114
69
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Relatively good hotel with convinient location and freindly personal. It is very simple service in room. It is difficult to add something more. I think that it is appropriate for short business trips/



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Valentin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetLeuven, General Manager at Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay.
See you on your next trip hopefully!
Best regards,
Michèle Deprez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Back from Leuven, where I spent 4 nights at the Ibis Budget Hotel.
The Hotel has a very convenient location (beside the train station). Our room was very clean and silent, despite the vicinity of the railway. Shower and toilet (both within the bedroom) were comfortable.The hotel offers a free WI-FI connection, perfectly working. Under the hotel there is a nice supermarket, where people can have breakfast or buy something to eat.
In general, my impression is positive, just two suggestions:
- one towel/person is not enough! Hotels (even the cheapest ones!) provide at least two towels per person (one big for the shower + one a bit smaller);
- the beds are not really confortable: if you remove the wooden axe under the mattress, I believe that your clients would be much much happy!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rpini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetLeuven, General Manager at Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
I'm pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay at Ibis Budget Leuven. It is encouraging as our guest's satisfaction is our primary concern. I would also kindly like to inform, there are extra towels available upon request at the reception.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Sincerely yours,
Michèle Deprez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harelbeke, Belgium
Level Contributor
139 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one night.
Positive:
- Good value for money
- Friendly staff
- Clean rooms
- Good location

Negative:
- Mattress was too hard for us. Not that comfortable.
- It was way too hot in the room to sleep and no way to cool it down. We opened the window but were forced to close it again because there was too much noise from people in the street (probably drunk students)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetLeuven, General Manager at Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
May I offer my sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Ibis Budget Leuven.
Best regards,
Michèle Deprez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajmer, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is more like a hostel with a private room.
Really on budget service.
Wireless could be slow.
The rooms were clean and place is tidy.
Right next to the train station, and since the town is small so it is ok.
I do not remember hearing the trains. But then again the windows do not open either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YashAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetLeuven, General Manager at Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
May I begin by thanking you for your review on Tripadvisor. It's with sincere regret, that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities. We sincerely hope the experience will not alter your confidence in our hotel and that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again. May I also end by saying that we found a solution for the windows and that it will be possible to open them in a near future.
Best regards,
Michèle Deprez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Polite and friendly staff, an excellent location (right outside the train station on the opposite side of the town), a good price and a clean room is just about all you can ask for. This was an excellent base to have a look at Leuven and to move on the following day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOREANDRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBudgetLeuven, General Manager at Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thanks for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Michèle Deprez - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leuven hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Leuven
0.9 mi away
Ibis Leuven Centrum
Ibis Leuven Centrum
#6 of 17 in Leuven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Leuven
pentahotel Leuven
#2 of 17 in Leuven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ibis Leuven Heverlee
Ibis Leuven Heverlee
#1 of 1 in Heverlee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Leuven Centrum
Novotel Leuven Centrum
#4 of 17 in Leuven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.9 mi away
Martin's Klooster Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven

Property: Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven
Address: Martelarenlaan 10, Leuven 3010, Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven 1*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven Centrum - the smart traveller's choice! Our 139 modern, comfortable rooms can accommodate up to 3 people, with a shower, separate private toilet, and satellite TV, all for a very budget-friendly price. Start the day with our good for value breakfast buffet! Free Wifi in the entire hotel and lobby computer with free internet access for Ibis Buget hotel guests. Welcome to Ibis Budget Hotels! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Budget Hotel Leuven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing