We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De Appel has an excellent price/quality ratio”
Review of De Appel

De Appel
Order Online
Ranked #353 of 503 Restaurants in Leuven
Price range: $10 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed August 9, 2018

We go there when we don't like cooking in the evening.
You can eat nice pasta's and salads at a good price, for less than 20€ you will have your plate+drink.
Don't expect a fancy restaurant or high quality service.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martine_Erik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 89 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2018

Back in the day it was a nice place to go. If you have fond memories, beware, don't return. The place is now a complete hole.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank the_nino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile

We wanted to try a place were we have not been before as we are trying to try all restaurants in leuven.

We wanted to sit inside at a table for 6 as we were 3 and potentially 6. The place was not full but the lady behind the bar, very rudely told us we can't stay there as they need the table in case a bigger group comes (till we left and we were 6 of course no one came)

The service was bad, not friendly and not really aware of what was going on.

We ordered a portion of Italian salami but an Italian salad came, we ordered a fresh orange juice a juice from the bottle came.

The food came and I must say it was far too expensive for the quality.

So to sum it up: low quality food, poor service and expensive.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank alusoare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017

De Appel is a place to grab a bite with friends -a plain non-exciting bite, that is. What bothers me the most about this restaurant is the service. Since I go there quite often, I know who I'd like or dislike to get as a waiter. Some guys are very friendly but some others are just doing their jobs with depressed faces free of charge. The food is not high quality, but since the prices aren't too high I guess that compensates.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amb_933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017 via mobile

A typical place for students because of their below average prices. But in my opinion some of the dishes could with a little extra touch. For example the Pasta Oriental would be nicer with some more vegetables.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank jenss950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Appel also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to De Appel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing