We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better Mex ( with a hint of tex )”
Review of El Sombrero

El Sombrero
Order Online
Ranked #58 of 511 Restaurants in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 25, 2019

El Sombrero ranks as one of the best Mexican style restaurants in Europe that I have had the pleasure to eat in. Thanks to business travel I’ve had the chance to try out some pretty good once in the western USA and Texas, El Sombrero compares favourably, though the heat and spice is adapted to Belgian tastes.

Services is good and friendly, plenty of options for someone gluten intolerant, atmosphere is great, only downside is you need to book well ahead as it’s often booked out.
For Leuven dinners I would say El Sombrero is a few steps ahead of Cucaracha.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 195keiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2019

... we now prefer going elsewhere. El Sombrero scores well on interior design and draws you in but the food and service lag behind. Although the quality of the food is consistent, it is pricey and could be more authentic. The staff is not very welcoming.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BelgianExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

This restaurant has become a classic in Leuven, it already exists +30 years.
The restaurant is nothing fancy, but very cosy. Don't come without a reservation, certainly in the weekends, this place is typically fully booked.
In case it is booked: note that you can also order take-away food.
The restaurant is not very big, tables are put close to each other. This may be a bit too close for some, but I don't think it is a problem. What I really like, is the no-nonsense approach. Kids are also welcome here.
I like the fajita's, which are of a good size.
Prices have gone up over time, but are still fair.
One important note: you can only have diner here, no lunch!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Erbee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018 via mobile

2nd time at this place, again cosy and good atmosphere. Staff was friendly, but everything took quite a while again; we spent 3h in the place for just a main dish. The piña colada was good of taste but pricey for the portion. The burrito el sombrero was very tasty! Overall recommended if you have time!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank lancelotd669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2018 via mobile

The food we got was tasty, but in my opinion expensive for the products used, I had tacos con carne for around 18 euros. I know it’s a Belgian price, but still this is too much. Service and atmosphere was nice! Overall recommended to try, but only if you accept their price range.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank lancelotd669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Heverlee, Leuven
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to El Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing