We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better”
Review of Himalaya

Himalaya
Ranked #141 of 420 Restaurants in Leuven
Price range: $0 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
milano
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“could be better”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I had dinner in this restaurant during a short stay in Leuven.
The place is nicely decorated, but the atmosphere is cold and distant. We had vegetarian and sherpa thali, both served with rice and naan; portions were OK and the food was good. The bill was not cheap: for a bottle of water, we paid 25% more than in other bar and restaurant in town (the brand was the same!).

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rpini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    35
    23
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Bland Asia?”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Service was slow and not particularly friendly. Seemed to have declined since our last visit a few years ago. Serves Nepalese/South Asian cuisine but does it almost without spice. A contradiction in terms for South Asian food. Perhaps they thought westerners like us would not appreciate more flavor. Too bad. More and more Westerners are like us, having been around the world more than a few times. Everything was cooked well enough and portions were adequate. It just lacked character, friendliness and life-the things I find most appealing in South and East Asia. My hope is that they will go back and rediscover what they once had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good Indian/Nepalese food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I tried the vegetable thali and didn't regret it : fresh vegetables, rice and some nice bread. My partner tried the Nepalese specialty which didn't differ too much from Indian food. The interior of the restaurant is very attractive and the service was good . A place to return to.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Els S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to be”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food is amazing, one best place to taste asian food ........ recommended if you want to test the real food from the great himalayas.
Food is amazing, one best place to taste asian food ........ recommended if you want to test the real food from the great himalayas.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fascinated interior but the food didn't live up to my expectation.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

When i enter in the restaurant, i was truly amazed with the interior decoration. I felt like as if i am somewhere in a historical place Truly adored it but feel really sorry for the food. I was served by a woman. She looked gentle. I ordered CHICKEN TIKKA and the vegetables were completely overcooked, didn't feel an indian taste.I also didn't like the way it was served. I got only a bit of sauce with it. I have gone to many other indian restaurant where we get sufficient side dish. But I am really looking forward to coming there again when i am back to Belguim. Because i think it would be far beter next time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melanie213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Himalaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing