We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“lovely couple and a lovely place”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Shasta Annex

Annex patio area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Annex patio area
lounge / kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Annex patio area
lounge / kitchen
Lounge
bedroom
annex patio area
Shasta (Main House)
Helford River
Red Lion (Local Pub)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Timothy B
1 review
“lovely couple and a lovely place”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

local shop pretty good, Falmouth very good, the area attractions, mines etc, second to none.very peaceful place Mawnen Smith, public house good also. If you want to explore cornwell, beutiful. nearby gardens superb, little coves abound

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 9, 2017
Thanks Timothy , so glad you enjoyed your holiday .regards Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry T
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great accomodation with everyting you need for a comfortable holiday”
Reviewed July 8, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Shasta Annex is in a great location within easy reach of Lands End, The Lizard as well as the north and south coasts. If you are garden lovers (as we are) then there are just too many to mention or even visit (we will have to come again). The accommodation has absolutely everything you need to enjoy your stay, starting with a really comfortable bed, a new bathroom with a great shower and a fully fitted kitchen area. Kathy has lots of local knowledge which was very helpful with planning where to visit and eat. We will definitely be coming back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2017
Thanks Rachael and Barry , really kind of you , I am glad you had a lovely holiday and the weather was perfect , hope to see you again .Regards Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 3, 2017
Thanks Sue Tony and Lilly the dog , it was a pleasure having you in the Annex , I do hope you will return sometime in the future and bring the lovely sunshine with you .Regards Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MarcVB
Mortsel, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice self-catering place for 2 in lovely Cornwall! Ideally located for walks!”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for one week end of May 2017, and were very pleased with the accomodation, the hosts and the service provided.
Everything one would expect was present, even towels were provided, which we didn't expect in a self-cater accomodation!
Hosts Kathy and Brian gave us a warm welcome.
Ideally located for walks along the coast, to the gardens (Trebah and Glendurgan are at walking distance!), to the Helford river, and much more!
Nice pub (Red Lion) in town for meals and drinks.
We enjoyed every minute of our stay!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 30, 2017
Thanks Frie &a Marc , very kind of you , I am glad you both enjoyed your stay .Regards Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy S
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super find near Falmouth”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved the annexe, it had everything you could wish for and was immaculately presented. Lovely view of fascinating garden and very peaceful location. Our hosts were very helpful and friendly. They also provided us with bread, milk, eggs etc which was much appreciated. We would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thanks Sylvia & Sandy it was lovely having you to stay , hope to see you both again sometime in the future .regards Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 17, 2017
Thank you Chris for a lovely review , it was a pleasure having you to stay , we hope to see you again . Regards Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Lovely accomodation and warm welcome”
Reviewed August 29, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Spent a fab week at Shasta Annex with my daughter. Great location for visiting the region, as well as my son who lives and studies in Falmouth. The accommodation was spotless and very homely, equipped with everything we needed. Kathy made us feel extremely welcome and the introductory pack of info/food was particularly thoughtful as we arrived quite late in the evening. We also appreciated being able to share the beautiful garden and there was ample parking space. Mawnan Smith is a picturesque village and Shasta annex is close to all local amenities including a great pub serving good food. Would definitely go there again and would recommend it for a stay without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and homeliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 31, 2016
Thanks Alison , very kind review , glad you enjoyed your stay ,hope to see you again . Kathy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing