We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Glamping Oasis”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Trecombe Lakes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Garthiem
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Glamping Oasis”
Reviewed April 25, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Nestled amongst the Cornwall farmland, this brand new development offers a unique take on glamping. The site comprises of seven individual pods, envenly distributed so you don't feel you're overlooked. The pods are modern and stylish providing two bedrooms in the wings, double and two singles, a more than adequate shower room, and a small, but functional kitchen. Although cooking facilities were quite small, this is balanced by the fact each pod has it's own barbecue with charcoal available onsite for a small fee, payment through an honesty box. Each pod also has it's own outdoor fire pit, firefighters and logs also available via honesty box. There's plenty for the kids to do too, with an adventure playground, boating lake and central lodge with tv and DVD, if you feel the need.
The only issues we had were, firstly, the parking. You cannot drive up to your pod, there is a car park adjacent to the site entrance for vehicles. It is designed for seven cars, one for each pod, but for some reason there always appeared to be more on site, meaning we had to park on the field or out on the unlit road.
The other was the kettle did not work, not a major problem, but Selina had it replaced the following day without question.
The positives far outweigh the negatives and we would recommend and return here ourselves.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Hello Gareth, really great you enjoyed your stay and thank for such a kind review , we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards
Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themeanes...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic pods in a beautiful setting - and very well provided for”
Reviewed April 11, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous stay in the Dormouse pod with our two children over the Easter holidays and I would definitely do it again. If you're after a traditional camping experience, these pods are not for you,,, they are glamping with a capital G. (My other half would rather eat his own eyeballs than go camping in a tent - but he was well pleased with these pods). Each pod has a double and two single beds with comfy mattresses and bedding, a working kitchen with cooker and fridge and a bathroom with an excellent shower. All utilities are provided, from crockery & cooking implements to folding deckchairs and handmade soap. The radiators can be switched on and off as you wish and the pods are very warm. The only things you really need to bring with you are your clothes, food and a couple of extra towels (assuming you have four people staying).

The area around the lakes is beautiful and the row boat is a great diversion on a sunny afternoon. My son also loved the playground. We made frequent use of the BBQ and enjoyed a couple of evenings around the camp fire, toasting marshmallows, watching bats, listening to owls and spotting constellations. Dreamy! All of the wood and charcoal is available to purchase on site.

Many thanks to the owners for all of the thoughtful touches that made this such a pleasant stay.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2017
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are really glad that you had a great time and hope you will return sometime in the future. Regards Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola K
Langport
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed for a weekend with 2 very nearly adult children. The pod was immaculate and everything about our stay idillic. My brother and his very young family stayed in the pod next door and the site was perfect for them too. The playground was easily accessible, the fire pits safe and manageable. The only downside was the one toilet roll and only 2 bath towels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 12, 2017
Hello Nicola

Thank you for your kind review and we are really glad you had such a fun time, we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fadi S
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fell in love with this place pretty quickly”
Reviewed March 19, 2017 for a stay in June 2016

We visited last year after spotting it online, and liked the look of it. When we arrived, we were blown away by how beautiful the place is. Perfect landscape, and the pods had everything you needed for a long weekend break (better equipped than some hotels I've been to!). The surrounding area had a kids play area, communal house with TV and kids dvd's, and two lakes to go boat paddling around on. Had two young children with us, who had the time of their lives, and my son keeps asking us when we're going back to the 'teletubby house'. Hopefully we'll be making a return this year, if its available! Book in advance, this place is clearly popular.

Its only 10mins from Falmouth, which in itself is the most wonderful town.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Hello Fadi,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review it makes all the effort worthwhile, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jletts
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very cosy!”
Reviewed March 5, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The pods are great they are so cosy with everything you need. The water is hot in the showers, all the cooking utensils you need. It's a lovely place to come to escape the pace of every day life and work. It is a little further from Falmouth than I thought along narrow country roads but a taxi into the town costs about £16-£20.
Overall our first glamping experience was a winner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2017
Hello Jess, really glad you enjoyed your first glamping experience, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Regards
Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZBarnard
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It was our first visit and experience in such pods. I have to say it was perfect for what we needed. There was four of us, two adults and two children aged 9 and 10.

The beds were comfortable, kitchen space adequate. Very clean toilet and bathroom. It was warm in the pod thanks to the heaters. The lightning inside once it was dark was very good.

We spent most of our time out and about, so just needed somewhere to sleep, shower, have breakfast and keep our luggage.

You can of course cook other meals and have the option of having bbqs. The area felt safe. The lake nearby was beautiful and tranquil. And the kids enjoyed the play area.

There was Shae, the caretaker around most of the time we were there, to help with anything we might have needed.

Phone reception is not good, but wi-fi is available and I could WhatsApp the owners (which I did) if I had any queries.

It was a nice comfortable experience for us. Will definitely be returning there! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 20, 2017
Thank you Zakia for your kind review it really brings a smile to our faces when people have enjoyed their stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, Regards Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escape521...
1 review
“Christmas shananagans”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We arrived Christmas Eve x so surprised by the size of the Eco pods once inside x everything was thought of , they were warm and cosy , the communial room was festive and warm with a TV if required x we visited Falmouth and around which was lovely spending New Years there then back in our little hobbit world which was so incredibly memorable x highly recommended x thank you ....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 6, 2017
Thank you for your lovely review and really glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Regards Selina and Jason
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing