We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect - Couldn't ask for more!!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Trecombe Lakes

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mawnan Smith, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lambikins
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect - Couldn't ask for more!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in a pod for 2 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary and to make the most of some relaxation time before our first baby is born - We couldn't have chosen a better place to do this. Although only 10 minutes drive from Falmouth's beaches, bars, restaurants, shops etc. you feel like you're in the middle of nowhere. We received a warm, friendly and accommodating welcome from the owners when we arrived a little early. The lakes are beautiful and peaceful and the pods are thoughtfully put together, warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean!! The grounds are beautifully maintained, with many little touches such as little herb gardens, flower beds and other little extra's which make it extra special. We ordered the Deluxe Breakfast hamper as an extra treat and we would recommend this too - full of local loveliness!! The pods are supplied with cleaning products, linen, towels, tea/coffee/sugar and all of the cutlery/utensils/crockery you would need, which is unusual for camping pods but makes such a difference, especially for short stays. The hot powerful ensuite shower is by far better than our own at home!! To be honest, i can't find a fault to mention. If we didn't have cats at home to return to, we would be moving in!!! Would highly recommend and look forward to returning with friends. Thank you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mel9567
1 review
“A magical place that exceeded all expectations.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just returned from a magical week at Trecombe Lakes. From the moment we arrived we knew we had found something special, a jewel in the Cornish countryside. The setting and location are first class, the owners have thought of everything, a communal lodge house with toys and games, helpful info on local area and things to do, plus a sofa and DVD player to keep the kids entertained on rainier days (not that we had any!), the lakes are safely fenced off, but they are wonderful to wander round and there is a rowing boat (life jackets provided) which is great fun. The children's play area is different and well thought out and would appeal to a variety of ages our children loved it. The real success story are the pods themselves, there was more room than I expected, they are finished to a high standard, clean, cosy and different, with lots of special touches, all set on a deck with the comfiest bean bags! We just loved the fire pit, sitting around our fire every night star gazing with a glass of wine, what could be more perfect? The area offers endless family based activities, but sitting at the Ferry Boat Inn with a beer whilst the kids go crabbing on the beach in front of you is a must! Well done to Jason and Selina for being the perfect hosts too, welcoming and helpful. Overall thoroughly recommend for family getaway, romantic weekends or just a bit of soul searching. One of those places we won't forget, mainly because we'll be going back next year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kparsnip
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A fantastic, comfy camping experience”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We were lucky enough to have the whole place to ourselves for the weekend but I very much doubt this will be the case next time we return. Our 2 and a half year old son loved running around and riding his bike along the tracks and we felt very safe with him there.
The pods are well equipped, the beds very comfy and there is plnty of hot water. Even during a pod shaking thunder storm, we felt safe and dry. It was lovely to eat al fresco and fire up the BBQ for dinner. Only thing to watch out for is the midges. We all got bitten.
The lakes are lovely and there is lots of wildlife to see - we spotted herons and lots of dragonflies. Am sure you'd see a lot more without a noisy toddler in tow.
This is a great place to come with a group of friends and next time we'd probably come back with mates and book a few pods. The playpark area is fantastic for older kids - might be nice to add in a few bits for toddlers too. Only other thing that is needed is a sun shade/umbrella for really hot days.
Lots to see and do locally although we were pretty happy just chilling at the camp!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the cosy pods, the setting and the peace and quiet.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette B
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautifully presented pods with attention to detail”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Very welcoming and helpful owners. The pod was well designed with everything that you might need, right down to the tea and coffee and even a pint of milk in the fridge!
At lot of time and thought has gone into the design of Trecombe Lakes, would definitely recommend it!
Great for children as there is a play park for them and plenty of investigating around the lakes to be done!
Good location as it's off 'the beaten track' but not far from Falmouth. Glendurgan gardens are worth a visit which are only a 5 minute drive away. It has a beautiful little cove at the bottom of it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was unique!
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve E
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility, beauty and comfort - yet it was a campsite!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We (family of 4) spent a wonderful 3 nights at Trecombe Lakes. Thought it was a little early in the year to get our tent out so we looked for reasonably priced glamping and stumbled across the newly opened Trecombe Lakes. The setting is stunning. Far enough away from the main roads to ensure a complete chill out, yet close enough to Falmouth (about 15 mins by car) to have easy access to provisions and entertainment. The pods are suberb - warm at night, well equipped for sleeping, showering and cooking (both indoors and outdoors). They also have enough space to remain indoors if the weather is too inclement to relax on the deck, although the sun shone for us everyday! The lake is naturally very pretty and the rowing boat, play area and open spaces are more than enough for the kids to entertain themselves (little ones who don't swim would need to be accompanied by an adult at the lake). A great facility which deserves every success in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and pods.
Liked least: What's not to like?
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicky H
Lee on Solent, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glamping at its very best”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a 5 day trip, and had the most amazing time. The site has been created with such attention to detail and to a very high spec. Just perfect!
The site comprises of 4 pods each with their own decking area, BBQ (& utensils) and fire pit. The pods come fully furnished, including pots & pans, cutlery, kettle, toaster, bed linen and towels.
There is an excellent wooden play area, fishing lake with its own rowing boat, tyre swing, & an indoor play area with a bat cam.
The site is near Falmouth but we had such a good time at the site we only did 1 day trip during our 5 day stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfy beds (I had the best nights sleep ever)
Liked least: Having to go home
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing