We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended and not disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trelawne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trelawne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended and not disappointed”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Having booked a short break at the end of September, we were treated to first class service from a very friendly and family orientated staff. The hotel was very comfortable and extended a warm welcome to us and the restaurant offered a variety of excellent meals. We caught glimpses of the wonderful views from the Dining Room, as we must of chosen the wettest prolonged spell of rain for the whole of our visit however we found lots of places to visit including the Maritime Museum which we can thoroughly recommend even if you are not a 'boat' person.
We look forward to returning without our rose coloured spectacles very soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daphnegosmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    57
    9
    8
    7
See reviews for
50
203
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Unable to book until late in August we were lucky to hit on the last room available for our week at the end of September. Described as standard room with country views , we were surprised and delighted to find that it had dual aspects with a view to the sea. The room was kept scrupulously clean and tidy during the week and we lacked for nothing in the way of consumable items. we had only wanted bed and breakfast accommodation as we had friends in the area and were not sure of our activities programme from day to day. We were pleased to find wonderful flexibility in the evening meal menus however and dined in the hotel on several occasions, always finding plenty of choice to suit our appetite, taste and "pocket"!! The food was never less than excellently cooked and presented, with a really wide choice of breakfast fare. The staff were always hard working, friendly and helpful yet unobtrusive. Any compulsive gardeners like ourselves will be pleased to note that Trebah & Glendurgan are practically within walking distance, with many more within a short drive. Make no mistake, this hotel is extremely well situated, well managed and well visited.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UTTOXETER
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chose this hotel at short notice relying on Tripadvisor reviews. We were looking for a quiet location overlooking the sea to relax after a hectic period in London. We booked a standard room with sea view for a week, which was the only type of room with sea view available as the hotel was full. To cover our dates a seamless changeover from one room to another after five days was carried out by the staff. The first room was immaculately clean and benefited from a recently refurbished bathroom with under floor heating and powerful shower. It was not large but adequate for us.The second room was older in style with a bath and of similar size to the first room. It was also immaculately clean. Beds in both rooms were very comfortable. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast and evening meal were expertly cooked and well presented. The service was exceptionally good from the young well trained staff. The only thing which did not suit us was the coffee as we like it strong. We mentioned this to the staff and we immediately received coffee appropriate to our taste.
The location had good views over the sea which is what we wanted. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing.
In summary, a very well run traditional style hotel with high standards, good food and good value for money for those requiring a quiet relaxing stay in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room if you want more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Bella my beautiful dog and I have just returned from a yet another glorious week at the Trelawne Hotel, Mawnan Smith. Paul, Emily, Linda and all the staff are so friendly and love and welcome both myself and Bella. We have been enjoying holidays here for the last 10 years, therefore they have got to know us both quite well. Apart from their absolute love of dogs (and people of course) the hotel is so comfortable and has wonderful views over Falmouth bay and towards the Lizard from both the restaurant and the lounge. There are beautiful coves and walks right on their doorstep and all the wonderful gardens of Cornwall are in easy reach . My personal favourite ‘Trebah’ is just 5 minutes away. The food is delicious and the hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. Both Bella and I cannot wait until Christmas where we will be joined by my sister and her dog Inca. Happy days!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We found the Trelawne hotel through Trip advisor and were not disappointed. We went with our Son and Daughter-in-law, their new baby 4 weeks old and a lively Labrador retriever. Had four wonderful days and nights at the Hotel. we had dinner there every night which was delicious and there was a change in menu every night. On the night of our arrival the baby had troubles settling room service was provided. There was a full English breakfast included with our rooms. The service was excellent the owner even walked with the baby so my daughter in law could eat her dinner. It was close to the Cornish coastal trail, we were able to take the dog on long walks by the sea. We visited some wonderful gardens close by.
In conclusion I would heartily recommend this very comfortable family hotel.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms are definitely worth the extra cost, however my husband and I had the country view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at Trelawne before and it never disappoints. Friendly helpful staff where nothing is too much trouble. Emily ,Paul and their staff made sure our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as always. The cleanliness of this hotel is amazing considering dogs are allow. (we have a boxer who loves his holiday here). They welcome him as they do us. The restaurant is lovely well organised and you keep the same table for your stay so no musical tables at breakfast. The quality of the food is excellent along with the choice as menus change daily, breakfast is excellent also with a wide selection and homemade marmalade (yum). Keep up the good work Trelawne - in all a lovely allround experience - some obviously don't know a good thing when they experience it. We will be back again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettseorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We picked this hotel because we were told it is a dog friendly hotel. Ours is a small dog (the sort you can carry), and we paid an additional £7 per night (exclusive of food - as stated in the booking!). We were, therefore, surprised to arrive and read instructions in the room that said dogs were not allowed in public rooms, nor should they be left alone in the room. Which begs the question - how does one get to eat breakfast?! Apparently, you put them in your car! I think that speaks volumes for how 'dog friendly' the hotel really is.
Dogs must be kept on a lead - perfectly reasonable - unless its one of the owner's dogs, which run freely in the garden and disturb you (and your dog, on a lead) while trying to relax looking at the distant sea view.
There is a comfort menu for those not wishing to eat in the restaurant. We were told it is available every evening. Interestingly, our friends who were staying were told "Not tonight as I'm on my own". So again, quite how you're supposed to eat if you have a dog, is anyone's guess (we had to take shifts at breakfast!).
Talking of breakfast, I enjoyed mine. Though I am still waiting for the HP sauce I requested - twice - and didn't especially enjoy being moved from the table I sat down at because, apparently, tables are pre-allocated by room number and there is no choice where you sit. If someone had greeted me when I arrived in the dining room and explained, we could have avoided a rather unpleasant ticking off!
I have seen some of the owner's responses to previous reviews. For the record, the decor is dated and the beds are not firm. I don't buy that it is a country house decor - it is more like a local authority nursing home circa 1987. Our bathroom had pink bath and toilet / sink - I've never stayed in a country house which boasted such decor! And the pillows defied any attempt to plump them up - thin and cheap.
We paid £55 per person per night for three nights, plus an additional £7 per night for the dog. We will be returning to Cornwall, but sadly not to this hotel. It's too much like staying at Fawlty Towers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liberaceLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trelawne, Owner at Trelawne Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We have so many lovely people and dogs who return several times a year without an issue.
Dogs would not be allowed in any hotel to bark or damage the bedroom. I do not know of any hotel where dogs are allowed in the restaurant. There is a sun-lounge area where dogs are allowed. The bar lounge area is where we serve the comfort menu so we believe for the comfort of everyone dogs should not be permitted. This is usually respected by our lovely responsible dog owners. Finally we have not served anyone breakfast in 'shifts' or refused the comfort menu which is available each night. We believe that reviews should remain factual and not vindictive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
1.8 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
641 reviews
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Meudon Hotel
Meudon Hotel
#11 of 24 in Falmouth
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 24 in Falmouth
1,041 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trengilly Wartha Country Inn
2.5 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Property: Trelawne Hotel
Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 43 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, LateRooms, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing