We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Glad We Found Trelawne”
Review of Trelawne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trelawne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here by chance, as we had tried to stayed at a well advertised hotel up the road but they had a theme night on and there wasnt any room.

Everything about this hotel was first class. Our room was large, airy and extremely comfortable with beautiful views over the bay and out to sea. Breakfast was varied and dinner was excellent with the menu changed daily and desserts to die for!!

We loved the location with local beaches and good walks and especially the gardens near by.

With the excellent service, cleanliness of the hotel, food and warm welcome from the hosts (paul and emily) we will definately be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scarlettseorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 346 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent 1st week in March 2013 there. Hosts very friendly, food & views first class.
Comfortable & relaxing. Plenty of walks from the hotel - no need to use a car if shopping is not on the agenda. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Situated in a delightfully quiet spot overlooking the sea with cliff top walks straight out of the hotel. The owner and his daughter made us very welcome and our rooms, though not huge, were well equipped with plenty of storage space and both bath and shower en suite. The dinner menu changed every day with a good choice at both breakfast and dinner. No obtrusive background music in the lounge or restaurant thank goodness. When we asked to change our table in the restaurant it was done without fuss. Plenty of great gardens to visit nearby.
Stella M

Room Tip: Ground floor garden view rooms are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We found this hotel in a brochure obtained from Corwall's tourism board.
At the moment there is a well signed detour to the hotel (due to end in March '13).
Cleanliness - immaculate throughout.
Food (we stayed half board) - very high standard, with a good selection, new menu each day.
There was a warm welcome at this family run hotel.
We would stay there again should we visit that area again, and heartily recommend it to all.
It is a short walk to Maenporth cove with its clean beach.
All in all just the short break we needed for an anniversary.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The views from the sea-facing room were great - towards Falmouth and out to sea to watch shipping activity. Quiet country location, excellent for walkers. Look out for good deals at certain times of year.
The dinner menu was very varied and conventional, and all choices changed daily.The presentation and quality was good. Breakfast too was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at Trelawne for two nights and found my room to be very comfortable. It was well appointed, clean, warm, quiet and private. Great shower! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast selection was good and the lounge area was sunny and welcoming. I appreciated the complimentary wifi and it worked well with good signal strength (in the public areas). If I'm ever back in Cornwall I would definitely stay at Trelawne again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11dollarbills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We enjoyed the peace, tranquility and professionalism of this excellent hotel

PaulGibbons and his staff were most attentive and charming.

The room was spacious and the fabulous views over Falmouth bay towards St Anthony's lighthouse and St Mawes were stunning.

The cuisine both at breakfast and dinner was excellent and beautifully presented from a varied menu from locally sourced produce and it was refreshing to see in the menu who all their suppliers are. The restaurant is called The Hutches named after the group of rocks near to the Hotel and the bar area has some stunning pictures of shipwrecks around the Cornish coastline.

The hotel is well situated out of town in the countryside ideally located for visits to many of Cornwall's superb gardens and walks around the Helford river. The hotel is family-run and it shows. The gardens are well tended and the flora and fauna in the area wonderful giving one a feeling of a tropical climate.

We must thank you for a wonderful holiday and will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: If elderly a ground floor room with south facing views as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WingspanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mawnan Smith
3.1 mi away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,249 reviews
1.3 mi away
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
Penmorvah Manor Hotel
#14 of 24 in Falmouth
256 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Lerryn Hotel
The Lerryn Hotel
#7 of 24 in Falmouth
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#5 of 24 in Falmouth
383 reviews
1.9 mi away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range: $116 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 43 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing