We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for the comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
'S Hertogenmolens Hotel
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very nice place, great design, but the price was too expensive. It's an old mill on a river, but that's not the problem of the noise. Room are noisy, you can hear people next door / room or in the corridor talking. Not very well isolated.
Not good as they claim for EUR 90 a room...
The designer could think also about comfront of the guests and not only about design...
I've been in cheaper hotels or B&B than this one, but no noise from the rooms next door...

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxDC67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for 'S Hertogenmolens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 48 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Found this hotel on "bookings.com". We were looking for a place to stay outside of Brussels for one night before going into the city for one day and then to Brussels airport. The perfect place! Hotel was very unique. It is a mill that has been converted into a hotel and restaurant. The hotel room was a little small but very clean and very adequate!! The bathroom was very large with a large tub and shower. The beds were very comfortable with nice pillows. The only downside was that you can hear people coming and going in the hall. The hotel seems to be used for many business travelers and they were up early. The breakfast was very good and a lot of variety. Staff were very helpful and spoke very good English. Check in and out was very easy and staff were helpful in providing information about the village and directions. Staff did leave at 8:00 pm We did not need anything, but I wondered if we did what would we have done? The restaurant was excellent. I had a pasta dish that was excellent. The staff were more than accommodating. The friend that I was traveling with was sick and they prepared a meal for me to take back to our room for her. The village was very nice with good shopping and very nice people. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in a small village.

Room Tip: They do have larger rooms if you preferred.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Quite a good hotel for a business stay, if you want a quiet town with charm. If you want some night-life better stay in Leuven, about fifteen kilometers away down the E340 or a short railway trip.
The hotel is comfortable and room I had was an older one with high ceilings and many exposed beams. Room is tastefully decorated and has free WiFi. The shower is an experience in itself.
Breakfast is OK, not great but enough of a selection I would presume to suit most pallets.
Great location for the town centre, local businesses and the railway station, all within walking distance. Just think, you might be able to walk to work; I did for the first time in my 35 year working history and it felt great. Made the stay even more worthwhile.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room above the water - bigger with a lovely view.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wiltonred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great find. Stayed here for one night on business. Restaurant food is good, rooms are clean and modern, breakfast was very tasty. The place itself is a converted watermill and there are hints to its history everywhere. The restoration is very tastefully done and the whole place has a very god feel. I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 777pj777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

The location is very good, and in the summer when the weather is good it is lovely to sit on the terrace by the river. Food in the restaurant is very good, I have never been disappointed. The reason I rate as average is that some small points have been missed. No hairdryer in the room - I always forget this until I have showered - these days you expect a hairdryer to be there! Reception is not manned until 7 a.m. They were helpful in providing a breakfast bag when I mentioned I needed an early breakfast - but forgot to suggest I checked out the night before when I ordered the breakfast bag. The printer did not work on check out & I never did get a copy of the bill. The hotel has changed hands since it opened, I hope these small points will be addressed now they are owned by the Lodge Group.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel is a renovated water mill on an island near the town. It's a ten minute walk to the town centre and it has parking, although it is a bit tricky to find the right road. Inside are oak beams, wooden stairs, floors and ceilings and it smells lovely.

The rooms are minimalist - there's a bed, bedside tables, desk, chair and wardrobe. The walls are the original mill walls. There's also air con and given that the hotel is over the river both sides of the hotel have river views and some have balconies. The bathroom has a shower in the bath and is very clean. The door lock takes a bit of getting used to though - nothing as old-fashioned as keys or cards here. There's a code and it also doubles to let you into the hotel if you're out late.

Breakfast isn't bad either - great choice of breads and pastries, fruit, yogurt, cheese etc. For an evening meal there's a (separate) restaurant next door and this is busy, so book if you can.

The hotel is part of the Lodge Group who have several hotels in and around Leuven. This one caters primarily for business travellers - male at a guess, given that the only mirror is in the bathroom and there's no means to dry your hair. This does mean that at the weekend its nice and quiet. The staff here are friendly, in particular the Dutchman who is also very knowledgeable about the history of the mill. This place is good for a stopover or base, and we will probably return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank space-elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

This is certainly an interesting hotel! It's a renovated water mill on the Demer River, and it would appear that all rooms have a river view (ours certainly did, and it was a very scenic view indeed).

The renovation has clearly been done with the intention of keeping the spirit of the building's history; high beamed ceilings and various artifacts from the old mill can be seen throughout the hotel, which gives it great character.

Our room was very comfortable, with everything you'd expect of a modern hotel (including a safe, flat-screen TV and free wi-fi, although we didn't use this -- ask at reception). The bathroom was spacious with a bath and a shower (and plenty of towels). The room was spotlessly clean and there wasn't a single scratch or scuff on any of the furniture, and it still had that distinctive woody smell.

My favourite thing about this hotel was the location. When you reach the hotel the only sound you can hear is the rushing of the water; it feels tranquil and private. It is, however, only a few minutes walk from the train station (it's best to print out a map because, while the hotel isn't difficult to find, it is down a side street and you can't see it until you've got a bit closer). Everything in Aarschot is within walking distance so it's perfect if you're on foot or bike.

The staff member we met during our stay was lovely, and even made sure we knew which platform we needed for our train back to Brussels (advice from locals is always welcome!).

I would certainly return to this hotel, and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates a bit of tranquillity!

(And if you're wondering, the name of the hotel apparently means "The Duke’s Mills"!).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldFuneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flemish Brabant Province hotels
1.4 mi away
Kasteel van Nieuwland
Kasteel van Nieuwland
#1 of 1 in Aarschot
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Pluimpapaver
Hotel Pluimpapaver
#1 of 4 in Aarschot
99 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Lodge Diest
The Lodge Diest
#3 of 4 in Diest
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Brussels Airport
16.3 mi away
Sheraton Brussels Airport Hotel
17.3 mi away
Novotel Brussels Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 'S Hertogenmolens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 'S Hertogenmolens Hotel

Address: Demerstraat 1A | Aarschot, 3200, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Flemish Brabant Province
Price Range: $101 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 'S Hertogenmolens Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 'S Hertogenmolens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing