We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Himalaya Restaurant
Reserve with
Himalaya Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #164 of 851 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $0 - $34
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zingem, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice interior, friendly staff and very good, exotic food. Nothing like we already ate in Belgium. Only the dessert could be slightly better for our taste, but then again it was something typical nepalese.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristof595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    73
    49
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Decent Nepali food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is fairly typical of Nepalese restaurants. Not amazing food by any means, but nice place to eat. On the expensive side for what it is.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ProfessorCalculus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Very Nice (but not much spice)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I dropped in on this place at the edge of the Patershol restaurant district pretty late one evening, and was very pleased with the experience. I sat (alone) at one of two outside tables which proved an excellent place from which to "people-watch". The service was pleasant and very prompt, though as noted in an earlier review, there was not much of a crowd at the time I visited.

The food was very good with a lot of depth-of-flavor in the rich sauces. That said, the spice level (or at least the hot-spice level) has clearly been adapted for a northern european palate. It would have been even better with a more authentic "heat factor". The lamb was very tender and the basmati rice was perfectly done. And all of this at a very reasonable price. I am sure I will be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ok Indian food for Belgium”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We've been searching for a great Indian restaurant in Belgium for seven years. So far this is the best, but to be fair, that's not saying much. The thalis are a good value and the food was ok but certainly didn't have the depth of spices of true Indian cooking. The naan was excellent and the service was very friendly. We would visit again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ACMPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Authentic Indian/ nepalese restaurant in Ghent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

It was a cool evening breeze that drove us to something spicy. Was a bit skeptical about this initially, but the food was a total surprise.
Enjoyed the food and the service was good. The prices were pretty good for what we ordered.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roadwarrior0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalaya Restaurant also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Himalaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing