We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly - great steaks”
Review of Du Progres

Du Progres
Ranked #6 of 872 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Friendly - great steaks”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Although we live in Gent We had never before been to Du Progres. We just (wrongly) assumed it was a tourist trap being situated on the Korenmarkt. Thanks to Trip Advisor we decided to give it a go. On a very snowy Sunday, we headed into town having first phoned to make a reservation. The staff were very, very friendly and we were soon seated. They specialise in steaks so my husband and son shared a cateaubriand (21 euros each) while I had a cote a l'os (22 euros). The home-made leek soup to start was fantastic. The meat came served with either frites and salad or warm vegetables. We had both and they were plentiful. Although we didn't order it, we were pleasantlky surprised to see that there was a day menu availble, even on the weekend for only 12 euros which the neighbouring table had. Soup, rump steak, frites and salad. Very good value for money! They also offer regular brasserie food such as spaghetti, Stoverij, vol-au-vents, fish dishes and other met options.
We will definately be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Expatingent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    537
    95
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Prices”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We found Du Progress from Trip Advisor and decided to 'go on the hoof' and see if we could get a table. It was extremely busy but we did get a table at the window which had just been vacated. We plumped for the James Bond Fillet steaks which were really excellent. The main course was more than enough so didn't take a dessert. We had 2 glasses of Prosecco & 2 glasses of Trapist and in total the bill was 57 Euro. The staff were very attentive. Overall, great food, excellent service and reasonably priced.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizand30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Authentic Flemish hospitality & great food - well worth a visit”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The welcome into this fourth generation family-owned restaurant was warm despite being advised we would have a short 5 to 10 minute wait for a table as we had not booked for our Sunday evening dinner.

We enjoyed the prawn starter served in the chefs 'maison' sauce which was delicious.

For mains we had the traditional Flemish pork stew slow cooked in beer which was so tasty as it had developed a rich almost sweet sauce. This was served with a crisp fresh new leaf salad & freshly fried chips. A great taste of the region.

We had planned to have the tradional Waterzooi however that was sold out for the day.

The restaurant is clearly famous for its food as its been around for four generations and well supported by locals, particularly beef steaks which looked impressive being served to surrounding guests (and judging by their clear enjoyment & polished plates!)

The atmosphere was relaxed and very enjoyable and thoroughly enjoyed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Holiday_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Steak”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I ate at Du Progres in late December and enjoyed a wonderful steak dinner. Coming from Holland, where it is a very difficult to find a quality steak, the steaks we ate were exceptional. The prices were also very reasonable giving the quality. I would recommend making a reservation ahead as all tables were full and the restaurant was not accepting walk-ins. There is also a great beer selection to pair with your steak.

I will come back next time in Gent! Thanks Du Progres staff.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable meal in Belgium!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked this hotel solely on past Trip Advisor reports, which where bang on! Plus the Trip Advisor picture........

As my Father has always said "they eat and drink very well in Belgium". This restaurant sums that statement up to a tee, no nonsense well presented expertly cooked meals. We skipped starters and headed straight to mains, and more specifically to the filet steak with the Bond sauce, which came with fresh flemish fries and a beautiful side salad, my wife with opted for the chicken. All the meals where fantastic, I've never enjoyed a meal like this for a very long time( and we eat out alot) All aided with refills of 'fresh' Flemish fries to mop up the beautiful Bond Sauce,the best pepper sauce I've ever had! The meal was washed down with an array of fine Belgian beers. My wife had a dessert which was presented with a birthday message and a 'firework'!!! Our great waiter Peter had overheard us discussing my wife's birthday the following day and decided to get the celebration started earlier which was a great touch which we appreciated greatly, oh and the creme brûlée was delightful!

A combination of the amazing food, great staff(especially Peter)and the warm atmosphere in the restaurant made this truly a night/meal to remember. Can't wait to return

Helpful?
1 Thank Snozzledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Du Progres also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Du Progres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing