We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere, fab food , good service ,,would recommend”
Review of Korenlei Twee

Korenlei Twee
Ranked #159 of 872 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $58 - $123
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, fab food , good service ,,would recommend”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Pleasant welcome, lovely window table, nice atmosphere, jolly and attentive service, great bread, historic sea bass. All in all a lovely evening. Would def recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank holidayshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    113
    40
    27
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food; service sometimes questionable”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is my second review of the same restaurant, and both times I chose to come here, and there may well be a third time! Nonetheless, once more service was mixed. We had ordered for 5-6; in the end only 4 could make it, which one waiter responded to by moving the extra 2-seater table away from our remaining two tables and shifting it somewhat towards the wall, to create space. The head waiter noticed this change two minutes later, and with a big sigh and lots of head-shaking tore the table away again from the wall and shifted it right up to the nearby table at which 2 other guests were enjoying their meal creating space for 4 there, leaving them with the empty seats right by their side. What on earth was that about? Otherwise, service was professional and the quality of the meal very high in terms of the price (we had the set lunch and spent 112 euros between the four of us, including wines).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank profgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beernem, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a nice and quiet dinner”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The prices are high, but you get what you pay for. Great location, great service, great food!

During the summer you can sit outside on a heated terrace, with a view on the river 'Leie' which is running through Gent.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syria, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Jewel in Ghent”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Last year we found a jewel i(Margal) in Budapest, and last week we found another jewel in Ghent!
Korrenlei Twee has a very creative menu, beatiful presentations, and excellent executions which gave us a superb tasting experience.
This is not for tourists that are pushing for time, but for people who are looking for a gastronomic experience. Certainly world class!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vagoose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top steak”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We wandered on here on the off chance as it was near our hotel. Although it was busy we weregiven a table next to a fire and I had veal rib, one of the best steaks I've ever had. Dessert was first class, too - white and dark chocolate mousse. Doesn't get five only because the other two said that the fish was merely 'very good'. I'd go back like a shot.

Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korenlei Twee also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Korenlei Twee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing