We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kicked out” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mosquito Coast

Mosquito Coast
Ranked #54 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $58
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kicked out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a reservation for 7pm. The people at the table next us were sent away rudely because they had taken a seat at a reserved table without knowing it. The food is good. At 8.45pm we order tea and coffee. At 9pm we are said by the same unfriendly person that the second shift has arrived and that we have to leave the table. They had not told us there was going to be a second shift, not when we came in and not when we made the reservation. We tell her that we just order coffee en tea, and she tells us to drink it in the salon. There was not a single free chair there. We tell her that. She answers there will be room soon. We tell her this is not a way to treat guests and that we will never come again. She says: "Very well." We pay our bill and leave. Bye bye, you impolite person. This restaurant is the victim of its own success. When offering 2 shifts, this has to be told in advance.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    168
    32
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant relaxing bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We came here quite a few times for drinks. The decor is brilliant, quite colonial. Surely one of Ghent's best bars. We didn't eat dinner here, I did have a brownie with my wine and yes it was like the previous reviwer said very dry. But the atmosphere here is great and so are the drinks. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ahudovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trust the chef”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Been there a couple of times now and we've never been disappointed, not by the menu of the day or à la carte. Plenty on the dish, tastefull for a fair price. Friendly waiters,cosy athmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wgoddaert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“travellers place with great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

not really cheap, but with great cocktails, nice food and a enjoyable place to sit and relax in the centre of ghent, its one of the best places to rest when visiting ghent. Done with Ghent? take one of the travelguides and dream the next trip, looking at the world-wide collection of travveling-crap.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bram D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious and very cosy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

World kitchen with a great choice! You can even choose spaghetti ...
Very nice atmosphere and lovely decoration! I felt like on holiday :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trapezist06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosquito Coast also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Mosquito Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing