We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa de las Tapas

Casa de las Tapas
Ranked #140 of 839 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I each had a plate of tapas for starters and then shared a large paella as a main course, finishing off with a tasty dessert and although I am not that acquainted with the Spanish kitchen I had a very good experience!
---
Reservation: if you are planning on going to this little restaurant be sure to make a reservation, because it seems to be the only way in, unless you are very lucky...
---
Reception: from the moment we entered the restaurant we were given a very warm welcome, something most restaurants lack and should take an example from... So the reception was perfect!
---
Service: the service during the evening was impeccable and a good example of this was the fact that we were planning on ordering several little tapas plates for starters and then the paella as the main cource, but our waitor advised us to cut down the number of tapas, because the portions of the paella are huge... and she was right... the staff was very knowledgeable and good!
---
Food: the portions were huge, yet we did manage to finish all of it. The paella was very well prepared and was covered with seafood... Overall the food was plentiful and very tasty!
---
Price: the bill was around 75€ for two persons, but when you take into consideration what we ate and drank (wine and non alcoholic beverages) the price was very correct!
---
If you are looking for a small and cozy restaurant, if you are in the mood for a great paella or if you want to try something new, then this is one of the places to be in Gent... My overall grade would be 4,5 out of 5 stars.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ach1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    54
    15
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently booked this restaurant whilst visiting Gent in November, accompanied by my wife and two young daughters. The food was great value, but more importantly (for me) the service was wonderful, both in terms of friendliness and speed of service. We will definitely be returning!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank snikiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
217 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We went here because it was close to our hotel and was well reviewed. Staff was very friendly and the surroundings were nice. However the food was very disappointing. We ordered the Paella to share with some tapas. I have very rarely given any restaurant a bad review like this and hope it was only a bad night in the kitchen. The paella was overcooked, the rice stodgy and very wet, more like an overcooked watery risotto. The meat and fish were also overcooked. The three of us could not eat more than a few spoonfuls each and all agreed that it was simply unappetizing at best, unpleasant even. Perhaps it was not the best choice for us to order as paella is tricky at any time but we were hopeful.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamer1NewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutelly recommend, great food with amazing value for the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Was there after checking here. The popularity proved to be genuine. Brilliant food and sooo reasonable!! 2 man ate and drink and it was just over 50 Euro incl drink. Amazing and thank you!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gochiso-sama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A warm reception and wonderful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We ate in this fantastic restaurant after reading great reviews and we were not disappointed. We were given a very warm welcome in impeccable English and looked after extremely well. The food was well cooked and delicious. If we are ever in Ghent again, we will defineitely go back. Be sure to book or arrive before 19:00 as it is very popular.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ajsutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa de las Tapas also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Casa de las Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing