We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cafe”
Review of 't vosken

't vosken
Ranked #66 of 869 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fiddletown, California
Level Contributor
610 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stopped at this place to have a quick meal before continuing our tour of Gent. Located on the main square of the churches, it was a great location for people watching. My wife had the spaghetti carbonara and I had the Gegratineerd. Both were excellent. A few Belgium beers and we were all set. Would eat here aagin. Sat outside, service was by one person, so it was slow at times. Dished cooked to order, so don't order these if in a hurry, which we were not.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scvrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    177
    48
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
114 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were very short of time when we visited this place the restaurant was very busy, however we were served very quickly we chose a light snack (toasted ham sandwich with salad) this was very well prepared and served very quickly,
The waiter was extremely busy but he responded to our request for additional drinks without any delay. The food wine and coffee were all excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great taste of Gent”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Service was friendly & quick and the food was great. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Reasonably priced menu with a good selection to choose from. If you're looking for a traditional flavour of Gent then this restaurant would be an excellent recommendation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“The best Belgian food in Gent!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This brasserie was recommended at Marriott as we were looking exactly for the place where we could get a real Belgian dinner and I must admit that the recommendation was perfect. It was Wednesday but the restaurant was full at around 9 PM and we were lucky to get the seats quite quickly.
The food we ordered was very nice and authentic. My wife has ordered a fried chicken with the fries and I decided to try the local beef stew with boiled potatoes. The food was simple and fantastic and it was probably the best stew I have ever ate. The only problem was the size of the portions: outstanding and much more than you can eat. It was a clever idea not to order the starters but even without the starters it was hard to eat it all.
The atmosphere at 'T Vosken is informal and the fact there were many local people at the brasserie does prove that it is really a nice place.
The pricing is very affordable: we paid Euro 36 for two main courses, a beer and one juice. Considering the sizing, the quality and the central location it was really cheap.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KirillIvanov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food with Flemish dishes, very good value, pleasant service”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This was a lunch recommendation from a local, whom we had asked if they could direct us to some good Flemish food. We were very happy with their recommendation.

The menu had a decent mix of snacks, salads, hot meat dishes, and local specialties.

Of note from what we sampled, the highlights were the "Provençaalse Vissoep" (Fish Soup Provencal) and the "Warme Beenhesp" (Fried Ham with mustard sauce).

The fish soup was more than just a fish soup, it had lots of fish pieces immersed in an insanely tasty broth and was served with toasted bread and a range of condiments that could be added as desired according to ones taste.

The fried ham, whilst not sounding glamorous, was very tasty and the mustard based sauce that it was served with and the fresh leafy green salad leaves seemed a perfect combination.

Our kids each had the predictable lasagne, and even though we just ordered off the main menu for them (and expected to be charged the list price for each), we found out later when they brought the bill that they only charged us half price for each dish because they claimed they only gave each child half of one serving. We thought that the servings were extremely generous in any case and our kids couldn't even manage to finish their "half" serves.

Coupled with plenty of fresh bread and Belgian beer, how could it not be good?

Can recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mouletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't vosken also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to 't vosken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing