We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The House of Eliott - CLOSED

The House of Eliott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $146
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great restaurant! It's in a romantic alley, in a medieval building with a wonderful interior. It has style but remains really cosy.

Service is great and the food even better. It is famous for its lobster (plenty of choice) and I must admit, I rarely ate a lobster that delicious.

If you are in Ghent, you have no excuses not to go to the House of Elliot (except if you don't like lobster.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JelDek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    100
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Flanders Province, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect step back in time.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Through recommendations, we decided to give this little unassuming place a try.
Originally it was fully booked, but we were lucky enough to be called thanks to a cancellation.
We were greeted in a warm fashion and given a lovely table in a corner away from the hustle and bustle.
I had mentioned at booking that it was our anniversary and I was given a small gift on arrival. Very thoughtful.
We were not rushed at all and the service was spot on. Polite, friendly and humorous.
From the aperitif through to the coffee, our meal was presented in a delightful manner.
Signature lobster was delicious.
The wine also accompanied the dishes well and were not overpriced.

It's rare to stumble on an establishment that allows you to enjoy the evening without feeling rushed. Service and quality went hand in hand.
I will certainly recommend and indeed revisit soon.
Thank you for making our anniversary a special evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simba2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Some people are really gifted!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

In follow-up of the superb comments on Tripadvisor we booked a table for two. The interior is a piece of art and each item has a history that the owner explaines with passion. The food is delicious and the service is like we would always like it to be. The is really a hidden gem in the historic center of Ghent. I will definitely go back! This is more than cooking, this is art!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster, exquisite eclectic interior, friendly service, warm atmosphere”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

At the advice of Trip Advisor we planned on dining at House of Eloitt while in Ghent. A tiny store front welcomes you into a warm and cozy atmosphere, an homage to Coco Channel, where you will find the owner behind the bar. On our first attempt to eat here we failed as the restaurant was closed. You should check the operating hours and plan to make a reservation. We lucked out the second afternoon we stopped in to make a reservation. I am glad we did.

We landed a table downstairs where we had a very romantic evening and meal. Do not go here expecting to eat and run. Many reviews will tell you this so take heed. Going with any other expectation only detracts from the experience. Fine food takes time and this is no exception here.

The service was friendly and accommodating. The waiter spoke fluent English and had the patience of a saint as he help us through the wine list and paired a fantastic 2010 Grand Masion Curvee Sophie with our meal. A melon mint sorbet to wash the palate in-between our scallop appetizer and Lobster 6 ways. The scallops were cooked to perfection. All the ingredients fresh and aromatic. Our main course, Lobster 6 ways, exceed our expectations. I've grown up eating fresh caught lobster straight from the Atlantic with my own hands. This lobster was prepared in 6 ways and each was am amazing preparation. When the waiter returned to ask if we wanted dessert, we said yes but did not want menus. We were at the last seating of the night so the waiter presented us with a little bit of everything they had left. They only have three items on the menu, so we said bring them all and we were not disappointed at all. All in all, a very memorable meal, great and hospitable owner, who greeted us with a drink as we walked in and sent us out, the same way. An excellent example of the Ghent; the food, people and atmosphere. A night to remembered and certainly a meal not to be missed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beechworth, Australia
2 reviews
“Lobster!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A truely fun experience with great food, served by great people. Be sure to make a reservation for this fun venue when you are in Ghent. Although going as a couple it would be a great place to take of group for a good time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Eliott also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing