We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply first class on every way”
Review of The House of Eliott - CLOSED

The House of Eliott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $146
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ross on Wye, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply first class on every way”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended and lunch was the high light of put our trip. We have never eaten such fabulous lobster. The attention to detail was amazing and the whole experience we would score 11 out 10. We will recommend without hesitation. Well done

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiltonCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    100
    21
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very good dinner and wonderfull owner!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had very good dinner in House of Eliott. Food was freshly prepared and tasted great. The owner of the restaurant is an amazing man. Definatelly go when you are in Ghen!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barcatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lotsa lobster”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Lovely restaurant with crazy decor and good service. The speciality is lobster. Normally I can't be bothered with lobster (it's such a faff getting at the food that I wonder whether you don't expend more calories than you gain) but this place was so well reviewed that I gave it a go. It was definitely worth the bother, and with the lobster cooked in six different ways they do a good job at chopping the thing up a bit, minimising the amount of crowbarring, stabbing and slurping that you have to do to get at the meat. Definitely the best meal we had in Ghent, and we ate very well there, so I can't help but give this a five outta five.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank middlefarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Interesting, but over rated.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not bad.
But I can’t help wondering what all the fuss is about. I actually know what the fuss is about, and what kind of inadequate morons made it. The decor and generally musty feel reminds me of Denis Severs House in London. That's a house that has been kept as a time capsule dedicated to the past. Dust, cobwebs et al.
That’s what troubled me. An agonisingly camp tall guy with a bald head and a skimpy t shirt was rifling through a bag of old ladies clothes by the bar, looking for old underwear and dresses that he could wear. I'm not joking. The restaurant was full of old ladies clothes and the toilet was a shrine to Coco Chanel. Buffalo Bill ring a bell? This is the sort of thing that people with no conversation like to be surrounded by presumably.
The food was alright, I would definitely eat it again. But the famous Lobster six ways is a con. It's actually Lobster four ways, the other two options are empty shell filled with vegetables and herbs, but no lobster meat. All of it had too much butter and was a recipe for heart burn.
Fantastic location, right by the canal, but I would like to see clean cutlery, i.e. not rusting, and to have rocket free from creepy crawlies.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bonviveurtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great host!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Wonderful experience, tasty and well presented food, attention on the details. Good service, although the restaurant was full and only 2 persons to serve - with a very kind host. One thing to improve: the expresso coffee. A bit expensive, but worths every €. We recommend!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnaNeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The House of Eliott also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing