We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little return for the high price”

Borsalino - San Marino
Ranked #692 of 869 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little return for the high price”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

What I look for in a restaurant is quality food, friendliness and affordable price. Non of those excel in pizzeria San Marino, the 'cheaper' of twins next to the high end Borsalino restaurant. The interior is modern and clean and the place is centrally located, but the expensiveness leaves a bitter taste. There are other Italians nearby with higher ratings you should consider.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    20
    19
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent penne, would go again”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

There was a lot on the menu but being English I did the usual thing and went for something I recognised - the penne pesto pomodoro. And I was glad I did! The pasta was cooked to perfection and the sauce was delicious. It was €14 for a main course and €2.80 for a small bottle of water, so not cheap, but the quality made up for it. Not sure what the rest of the choices are like but I'd definitely go for that again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidSHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food good, prices excessive”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Bit torn by this place, as a family of five all ate well, my veal was excellent, in fact: but at well over 100 Euros it is just too expensive to be rated more highly. Go if money is no object, but if money is no object you probably don't eat at places like this.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

pizza was decent but whole menu was very overpriced. the drinks was also exspensive, but i guess it filled a whole.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, nice service”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

I was there few days ago and had a pleasant dinner, with good food and nice service. I was pleasantly surprised by the friendly personnel, mostly Italian, with the familiar taste of a home made cuisine. Surely recommended!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustAnotherUser74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borsalino - San Marino also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Borsalino - San Marino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing