We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Turkish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ankara

Ankara
Ranked #18 of 851 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good Turkish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

This is a very popular restaurant - we waited 20 minutes to get an outside table for two on a Friday evening. The staff are friendly and efficient and the atmosphere is very party-0like, with everyone talking across tables and with the people walking past in the street. Many of the clients are themselves Turkish, so it must be fairly authentic:)
To save having to make a choice we decided on the Chef's special platter for two to share, which has a bit of just about everything on it - Kofta, chicken, lamb, steak, king prawns, all the meze and more. Although slightly overcooked to my taste it was still very good.
The mint tea was good and the Turkish coffee excellent.

Overall good value for money with a lovely atmosphere, worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    134
    29
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leith
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great value, great quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by Belgian friends and we were not let down. It is a bustling, busy, fun restaurant, full of locals and the local Turkish community (always a good sign).
The salads were super fresh, and meats good quality and perfectly prepared. The portion sizes were very generous.

I don't usually choose to go to a restaurant with photos of the food on the menu, but this is a great way to eat really well on a budget, and to enjoy great service and a buzzing atmosphere. Even more impressive is that we visited on the last day of the ten day Ghent festival, and the high levels of service and food were maintained.

They didn't have a high chair or plastic tumblers for our child, but that was the only negative and seemed to be the case wherever we went in Belgium.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBoyLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Easy choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

If you are in the neighbourhood and you like Turkish/middle-east cuisine this is the best place in Gent for food, prices, kindness and efficiency of the staff.
One example for all: last time I went with the family and I took a "raki" while dining and another after the coffee, then they offered me (and the others) another one for free when we payed.

Helpful?
Thank Federico785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
488 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Make sure you're hungry!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

What a superb evening we had at Ankara Restaurant on Easter Sunday. We didn't book a table, but they accommodated the two of us with ease towards the end of the evening - approx 9:30pm. Ankara is in a busy road with numerous restaurants close to the Patershol district.

We ordered the Ankara Special for two and tucked into olives and bread before the main course arrived. When the waiter, carrying an enormous oval platter on his shoulder started heading our way, my heart sank. The Ankara Special was enormous with every type of meat imaginable, jacket potatoes, salads dips etc. We really tried to do it justice, but had to give up three-quarters of the way through.

Ankara had a lovely atmosphere and I would highly recommend it to anyone visting Ghent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food with affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is definitely not any kebab house, but real restaurant. When visited it was full house but they arranged us a table without reservations. 2 adults with 2 youngsters eat diner with less than 70 EUR. All food was tasty but not spicy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tommi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ankara also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing