We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, plentiful Turkish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ankara

Ankara
Ranked #18 of 850 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good, plentiful Turkish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Went here for dinner, nice welcome & shown to a table. Had a meze to start (along with free olives & bread) and lamb chops as a main. More food than I could eat & everything was delicious.

Recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattandAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    134
    29
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zemst
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“little secret in Gent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

one of my friends who live in Gent brought us to this place. We were expecting a kebab house as there are so many. This is a restaurant with a good service of the waiters, wich are very friendly and helpfull. The apatizers were delicous and the bread as well. All this was on the house. The mixed grill platter that we took was more than enough to feed one. It only costed 14 Euro. Half a liter of good wine was also only 8 Euro. If I go with my wife to Gent I will take her to this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fonzzemst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Excellent value and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We chose to eat here after the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor. It was a Saturday evening, around 8pm, at Easter. We had no reservation. We walked in a found about 8 other people standing by the door waiting to get their table, so we were in two minds as to whether we should look elsewhere, this was made worse when we were told it could be up to 30 mins before we get a table.

Well, I'm so glad we hung around, it was a great meal and we both walked away very happy with our choice. The portion sizes are huge and the quality was top notch. Loads of meat, well cooked and juicy, nice salad as a side and the dressing was good. And this is topped off by a very reasonable bill, making it a bargain meal when you consider quantity and price. If we were in Gent again we would definitely eat here, but probably make a reservation if it was a Friday or Saturday night. Turkish tea to complete the meal

While we waited by the door we watched one table (of two) get served with the mixed platter (I forget its exact name). The platter was longer than the table was wide and a chair backrest had to be used as a prop for the huge plate, plus even more dishes containing bread, dressings, etc had to be delicately placed around the table. An impressive sight, made even more so when I saw the price of the platter.

The service was a bit hit and miss. Waiter taking things to the wrong table, sometimes slow, but these were minor niggles and it was a very busy night.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, good food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A favourite place in Ghent. Go-to destination for afforable dining with visitors.
We walked in here on a whim the first time we were in Ghent, and have never been disappointed.

The portions are large, and the food is tasty (especially given how affordable it is). Of course, it's not very refined and some things are a bit hit-and-miss, but it is well cooked on average.

Service is efficient and friendly, and guests are usually offered a (syrupy) digestif on the house.
The 2-person platters will easily serve 3-4, which is no problem if you ask. The calamari are highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alje B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

While in Ghent we decided to visit Ankara based on reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. Very friendly atmosphere, staff very welcoming, the food was good and there was plenty of it. Would definitely go there again. Excellent value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Firedragon64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ankara also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Ankara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing