We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty authentic, pretty good value”
Review of Al Castello

Al Castello
Ranked #309 of 879 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Pretty authentic, pretty good value”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As the name suggests accross the street from the castle, so in a prime location. Owner makes the pizzas in the front window and likes to put on a show. A couple of beers, a couple of pizzas and a litre of the house red came to 43 euro, which we thought was pretty reasonable for Belgium. Service was fast and friendly and the pizzas were good (topping delicious, base above average). We tried to re-visit on a Saturday night but it was booked up, so bear that in mind.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    63
    16
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice restaurant with good food”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We were easily able to get a table for lunch and had an enjoyable experience in this restaurant. It was a very cold Sunday in May and we found it to be welcoming and warm inside. We really enjoyed our pasta and found the table wine to be OK. The prices were very reasonable. Two pastas, two wines and two cappuccino came to a total of 33.00 Euro. Pretty good for a country which we found to be generally rather expensive. Whilst the waiter did not initially make small talk with us, he livened up considerably when I told him that the cappuccino was the best I had had in Europe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location, prices ok (for Belgium), delicious pizza, nice service, the owner/pizzaiolo is also a bit of a showman.
Needs urgent redecoration though.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roberto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Chef was fun to watch. My amatriciana wasn't a traditional sauce, which is what I thought I'd ordered but the food was good nonetheless. Pizza's were the best we had in Belgium. House wine needed work.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank aRecor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good pizza, great atmosphere, just near Gravensteen castle”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just across the road at the Gravensteen castle, you have this nice pizza place, very cosy in the evening, but don't forget to make a reservation because it gets crowded soon in the evening.

You can see how they make the pizza's which gives a nice touch to the restaurant. The wine was okay, we got our pizza's pretty quick and were really delicious (one of the best I tasted in Ghent).

Definitely a place to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dequal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Castello also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Al Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing