We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food and Lovely host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Allegro Moderato

Allegro Moderato
Ranked #8 of 850 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Belgian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and Lovely host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Gent is one of the best place in Belgium and I always enjoy visiting Gent; this time the trip was doubly excited since We happend to visit "allegro moderato" which is right n the center next to the canal; Its always nice to sit n the terrace and enjoy the sip of Spanish Gazpacho with the little touch of Belgium (little grey crevettes added) as an aperitive; and then ordered the Tuna with Sesame for a started and fish turbot! I must admit that was one of the best tuna i ever had in my life time; it was cooked perfect (on dot - precise temperature and n dot- precise texture); the same goes for Turbot as well.

over all, it was mouthwatering experience, I would defnly go again and strongly recommend to everyone

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sundar_Ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    121
    44
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Excellent food, lovely welcome, fabulous riverside experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very happy that we happened on this lovely place. The exquisite dining room, beautiful location attracted us, and the dinner was excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good position”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is situated in probably the best location in Ghent, and I am afraid it trades on that fact as the food was expensive and ordinary.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent food. Lobster!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a very extravagant meal here. It was wonderful, and included lobster. Excellent place. Beautiful inside.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank helene123Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced, slow service and not honest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is in a top location and cosy setting. Food was good, but hey, for this price you expect perfect food .
The service however was very poor: very very very slow, our first dish arrived 1 hour after ordering !
And then the worst: i food a desert with rhubarb icecream , as i never tried rhubarb ice cream, i definitly wanted ths dish. When it was served, i tasted the different icecreams, but couldnt taste rhubarb.. So, i asked the waiter. He pointed the white coloured ice cream scoop on my dish and said it was the rhubarb ??? I tasted more , being sure it was just vanilla, asked another waiter., then finally the other waiter admitted there was ni rhubarb and just gave vanilla instead !!
Ths is what i call a ripp off! At least , They should have told me in advance ! Because, even the waiter heard i took this desert specally for that.. Luckily i told them, so finally i did not have to pay for it..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BartOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro Moderato also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Allegro Moderato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing