We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, superb decoration and friendly service”
Review of Allegro Moderato

Allegro Moderato
Ranked #11 of 879 Restaurants in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good, superb decoration and friendly service”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This restaurant is extremely well located along the Lys river in front of the most beautiful and typical building of Ghent. On top of that, the interior decoration is really nice and romantic in every details. The hard wood floor, although beautiful, is the only caveat as you may feel every step of the waiters, depending on where you seat.

We decided to take the degustation menu without the foie-gras and it was good but not extraordinary. We were actually first served with some tapenade and bread followed by amuses-bouches before getting the first starter plate. After the second starter, an original and tasty langoustine broth, we unfortunately had to wait about 40 minutes to get our entree, which came right after we draw attention on the fact the wait was a little too much for us. In result, the rack of lamb was barely cooked. On the bright side, I have to say the entire staff has been outstanding in reacting to our complaint, served us the rest of the menu rapidly and offered the coffee to apologize for the long wait. Even though, I found it a little overpriced for the food served, I will still recommend the place for the romantic ambiance and staff friendliness.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    123
    45
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rixensart, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I loved this restaurant immediately, the interior is decorated beautifully and there is a very calming atmosphere. The food was delicious and the staff were extremely helpful, patient, and very friendly. It is a little pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for.....first class dining! I think it's the first time I've spent 4 hours in a restaurant, but we were so relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Highly recommended!! Also.....the créme brûlée was to die for!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TheresaKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had diner on a busy saturday in march. Close to the MArriot, it was ideally situated. We arrive a bit late and were put close to the door. This was the only bad experience I had. (cold) The interior was nice restaured. The food was excellent. The cook managed to get every dish perfect. We took the housewine, which was an excellent price for money Italian Montepulcano. The toilets are a bit difficult to get to. The staff was very friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Wonderful food served in beautiful surroundings by kind and courteous staff! Every dish was delicious and we had an interesting and productive time discussing cooking techniques. We'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great interior, excellent food”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Opposite the Graslei this restaurant is located right in the center of Ghent. Its interior takes you back to the 18th century making it an ideal location for special occasions. Excellent food, a bit pricey but great value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allegro Moderato also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Allegro Moderato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing