We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food diabolical service”
Review of Adriatico

Adriatico
Ranked #343 of 872 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food diabolical service”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We fancied Italien food as a change from the massive meat restaurants and came across this place as we wandered around the cathedral.
The proprietor took our order 3 times as he does not writr it down. We were only a table of 2 so how he copes with large parties we can only guess.
The food exquisite, the tomato sauce with my ravioli was the best I have ever tasted anywhere and I spend a lot of time in Italy.
Back to the service. If you are a young, pretty, twenty something local in a party of similar girls you will get the fawning kissy kissy treatment, all others will get served eventually. We were never offered dessert or coffe and after a long wait decided not to bother.
This is not the restaurant for the tourist unless you don't mind waiting a long time and being totally ignored during your stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank owlfromsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    32
    18
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stopped in this place after seeing the sights in Ghent. You know it is going to be good when there are business men and local people in there. Had the pizza which was good. My son had the smoked salmon lasagna which was not a disappointment. Service fast and friendly. Nice place to warm up for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annmebrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good pizza”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Very Good for pizza, reasonable price. Not very attentive service - more interested in locals, but ok. Price ok.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loulouleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Things looked promising to start, the place was busy and the service initially prompt and friendly. The house wine was decidedly average especially the white but we found the food very good, especially the starters and the pizza.
The service team then seemed to forget us, we eventually gave up trying to order sweets or coffee and simply got the bill and left somewhat deflated.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DP25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Average Italian restaurant”
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Waiter showed us to a table immidiately, but afterwards we had to wait for ordering our food.
Pizza was OK.
Tried to put olive oil on my pizza, from the bottle on the table, but it was not good.
Allright service, and as most italian places they put in som italian words when they speak english.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank STLHerning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adriatico also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Adriatico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing