We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick stop over”
Review of Au Contraire

Au Contraire
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Au Contraire
Ranked #89 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick stop over”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great B and B only 2 rooms so very small but with friendly owner, excellent breakfast, close to centre and station plaza restaurants. This standard of accommodation would have cost alot more in the uk. Bedroom furnished to an excellent standard, you could tell the owners had put alot of time and effort into this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were staying for 1 night in april, and we were amazed by hospitality of the owner, and what a lovely place this is! You don't expect much of B&B, but this time it turned the notion upside down. The owner welcomed us, showing the room, and advising about places and events in the city. The room is lovely decorated. Furniture and floor maybe not the modern one, but it definitely has a patina of antiquity, making an atmosphere of traveler's home. It has a modern TV, though. In fact, the whole place is notable for devotion to details. I couldn't imagine we will find there lot of fresh towels, bathrobes, sneakers, hairdryer, mirror with lamp, even some cotton swabs. The room has a sink, and WC and showerroom is on ground floor. There is also a front room, also decorated in travellers taste. It has some posters, and a lot of books, in different languages, so if you have to wait for facilities to get free, you won't get bored.
The hotel has a winning location, close to the central station, and near a park, on the way to downtown. The host handed us over the keys, he even offered a garagebox for a car at extra cost. At evening you can make some tea if you wish, there is also a mini-bar.
The breakfast was beautiful. At the time we agreed earlier, the dining-room was served close to the highest standards. Coffee and tea, a croissant, boiled egg, ham and cheese, grapes to soft cheese, bread buns and a choice of jars with jam. Even a fresh juice was offered, a real freshly squeezed juice!
We are really happy for the time spent there, and highly recommend this place to everyone who needs some homelike and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vadimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The rooms have plenty of room for 1-2 travelers. I have stayed in smaller rooms that were meant for 3-4. All the rooms are nicely furnished. There is ample A/C for the summer.

The location is an easy 5 minute walk from Sint Pieters station. The surrounding neighborhood is very nice. Citadel Park is only 2 minutes of walking.

The owners are fluent in English, French, and Dutch, and I'm not sure how many other languages. Conversation was easy. They also generously provided maps of the city.

The price was very reasonable.

Last but not least, the breakfast was great! Every day, we were served hard boiled eggs (fresh from Pieke's chickens), a wide assortment of breads and jams, traditional pastries, chocolate, and good coffee and tea. The fact that I can still remember what I ate for breakfast over 6 weeks ago should tell you something of its quality.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnonGuy920190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed here for two nights while at a conference. The hotel is easy to find and within easy walking distance of Ghent St Peters station. The decor of the house is quite nice. I stayed in the top room which meant two flights of (steep) stairs to the toilet/shower which was a little bit inconvenient. Breakfast was nice, good choice of things and generous but the proprietors didn't appear at all during breakfast so I didn't have the opportunity to tell them about the main problem which was....

On my first evening I cut my foot fairly badly on a piece of glass on the floor of the room. It looked like a sliver from a smashed light bulb. I cleaned up the blood with some cotton wool balls that were in the room but by no means got the floor clean. I wanted to see if there was any more glass so I kind of swept the floor with my hand and there was a good deal of dirt and fluff still on the floor which made me feel that the room had not been cleaned properly (and hence why the glass was there).

When I got back on the second evening the blood was still there, the room had not been cleaned at all. The bed was unmade.

I told the owner as I was leaving about this and I felt that the response was not suitably apologetic - blank incomprehension/incredulity that there could have been glass on the floor rather than acceptance of responsibility. They also said that they don't clean during a stay "because some people don't like it". Well... I quite like having my room cleaned and I think it's normal?

I appreciate that a small piece of glass on the floor is no-one's fault but I felt it reflected a more general lack of care in cleaning. And I didn't really care for their attitude when I reported it to them.

That said, I think you could have a pleasant stay here if you managed to avoid injuring yourself! The distance from the bathroom and the steepness of the stairs means this is not a place for people with any limited mobility or probably young children.

Room Tip: Attic room is nice but not for sufferers of vertigo or those who might need to get to the toilet qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovethehills74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

It is nearly a year since I stayed at this bed and breakfast - and for one night only - but it has stayed with me as one of the nicest bed and breakfast I have stayed at. Enormous room, beautifully decorated, in gorgeous house, near the park. Amazing breakfast and shower room and very kinds hosts. Would go back to ghent just to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

This is a terrace house on three floors done up to be a B&B. The two rooms are on the first and second floors and our's, on the first, was very nice. On the ground floor, the front door opens onto a passage with on the left a room for the owner's DTP business and on the right the house next door, where the owner lives.

The passage then leads through to first the kitchen which gives onto the bathroom. This layout is most unfortunate since it means that you may be having breakfast listening to someone having a crap on the other side of the not-so-thick bathroom door, and, since there is no water supply to the kitchen, in order to get water you need to go into the bathroom. We can't help thinking that it would have been more intelligent to put the breakfast room where the studio is and leave the back of the house for smelly stuff.

There is in addition a structural problem with the plumbing, so that on arrival the whole house smelt strongly of sewage--and my sense of smell in particular is not acute. The smell comes from the ground floor and in particular from the kitchen. We managed to alleviate the problem somewhat in our bedroom by leaving the window open all day, but there is no ventilation in the kitchen (skylight doesn't open, no windows) and only a small, non-mechanical vent in the bathroom (no window). Breakfasts were most unpleasant.

We told the owner that it stank. At first she said, "What smell?" but then agreed that it was a problem and that the pipes under the floor would have to be dug up after the summer season. Unless one summer was more important to her than her long-term reputation, it is unclear to us why this problem wasn't a priority and why it was not made known to clients in advance.

The distances to locations in Ghent given on the website are grossly inaccurate--reckon 45min walk to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BarcelonaTaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieke, Eigenaar at Au Contraire, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
Google Translation
Met dank aan onze gast van Barcelona. Intussen (1 jaar geleden) hebben we de ontbijtruimte verplaatst. Het is inderdaad beter. Gracias!
De geurhinder is ook weg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
579 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.5 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Contraire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Contraire

Property: Au Contraire
Address: Monterreystraat 40, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing