We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic |hotel, great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights as we were in Ghent for a friends wedding. We booked the hotel through Experia and paid just under £&0 per night which was bargain. the hotel was lovely. We we greeting with very helpful friendly reception staff who spoke perfect English. The room was very spacious and comfortable with a hige bed. Tea and coffee making facilites and a reasonably priced minibar. The bathroom was spacious and immaculuate. The location was perfect being right alongside the Leie river, an idea setting and close to so many bars and restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, it was alovely modern hotel with nice little added touches which made all the difference. Oh and they do a fantasic red wine in the bar too and it's the cheapest on the menu!!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank The_Glovers_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
There are newer reviews for Ghent Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,235 - 1,241 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2010

I really could not fault the Marriott for a stay in Ghent. It's easy to drive in to the centre of the city and park in the hotel's underground carpark, which is a real plus. We had arrived a little before the check-in time and the staff at reception did their best to find rooms for us to go straight to and were able to do so, which was great service. The lobby and bar area is airy, beautifully appointed and well-lit.
The room was perfect in every way - the beds comfortable and the bathroom clean and spacious. The furnishings are lovely and all the expected mod-cons are to be found - absolutely faultless.
The Poppi bar is great - the prices not too high, the service friendly and the ambience excellent.
This hotel has to win hands down for its location, with a side entrance right onto the riverfront on the Korenlei, where are to be found plenty of restaurants, bars and attractions. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel or in recommending it most highly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at this Marriott in July and enjoyed a wonderful visit. We usually do not stay in the larger chain hotels while in Europe, preferring to stay in small boutique hotels instead. However, this Marriott is just exquisite so we decided to book it for 2 nights. The entrance from the canal side is very pretty and makes it look like a boutique hotel. Inside, however, the look is very modern and up to date. Our room was lovely and the staff was very attentive and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

This is an excellent hotel. Very central, lovely rooms but very good value. Check in was very simple - our teenage son liked the fitness room and the beds were extremely comfortable. Excellent choice if you want to be right in the heart of Ghent with a good standard hotel and good price. Parking was simple (underneath the hotel) - a bit pricey but all things considered worth it for the convenience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivienne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed here during a weekend trip with friends in November 2009. I typically don't choose big chain hotels in Europe, but there was a great winter rate at the Gent Marriott.

The hotel is in an excellent location - right in the heart of Gent. Many of the rooms have canal views and the hotel is easily walkable to attractions throughout the area. We walked to local pubs, great restaurants, the Gravensteen, and the various belfries of Gent. The nice thing about the hotel is that it is hidden behind some historic buildings, and fits in well with its surroundings.

The rooms were typical marriott rooms - businesslike and functional without too much in the way of local character. That said, the bar downstairs had a great selection of local beers. The room was very clean and the beds very comfortable.

I'd stay here again for the comfortable rooms and great location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

This is one of the best Marriott that I have stayed in especially the location. It is situated perfectly in front of the famous canal with the beautiful canal houses. Check-in was smooth and quick. I was given the impression that I would have been upgraded had it not been my request for a twin bedroom. As an Elite, one drink and tapas was complimentary at the bar and breakfast included again another plus point here.
The lobby is very modern and light. The interior of the building complemented well with the old facade of the hotel.
Room: Given a room on the 4th floor with view towards the street behind the hotel, so just view of the street and apartments. Room was sufficiently spacious and clean. Only pity was that the some wear and tear was showing. One of that was the water temperature control which was nearly impossible to adjust. The other thing was the LCD tv which was a bit too small for viewing from the bed.
Service at the bar was ok, but prices were actually normal bar prices and not those overcharged prices as in hotels.
Breakfast is served in the hotel restaurant which was quite unique and beautifully decorated, again a well mixture of old and new. Breakfast layout was ok, though compared to the Renaissance, slightly limited. However it was sufficient and extra items could be ordered.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. They greet you every time with a smile. Access to rooms are via the lifts are key-card controlled.
Overall a very good hotel and highly recommended. The price is on the higher side, but well worth the value especially for those looking for a relaxing and romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nldogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

This is a great hotel in an ideal location right in the heart of ghent. The front of the hotel retains its original frontage and opens right onto the canal. This area whilst busy has lots of character and it is easy to walk everywhere. There is also a great choice of restaurants nearby. The inside of the hotel is modern with a glass atrium. After a busy day sightseeing it is a cool and calm retreat. Breakfast in the hotel was very good and the breakfast room had a nice view over the canal. The rooms were also good with tea and coffee facilities. We also went to Brugge by train but although very pretty I preferred Ghent. My only complaint was the room service menu which was very boring and the salad I had was not very good!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edinburgh3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $154 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing