We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,195)
Filter reviews
2,195 results
Traveler rating
1,385
652
107
29
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,385
652
107
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationlobby barcanal view roomcanal sideold townbeautiful citycar parkexcellent hoteltrain stationthe heart of the cityroom was largestayed here for one nightper dayexcellent breakfastfacadeatriumeuros
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 2,195 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Stayed for 3 nights at the Marriot.
Hotel is in a great location – central for bars, canals, tourist sights, shops, very quiet as no major roads around it.
We changed rooms as the 1st one (top floor) had sealed windows – if you want an opening window, they only open up to floor 3. Staff were very helpful accommodating this for us quickly, and had also allocated us a top floor room in the first place as that was what we requested.
The room was spacious with large bathroom, and lots of storage. Very quiet room, and comfortable large bed, and huge selection of TV channels, plus Smart TV.
Very clean everywhere, reception area / bar is a nice open plan space.
Breakfast was great – everything on offer and plenty of it, and in a nice room with canal views.
The only small downside was the toiletries – very minimal supply. In a 3 night stay they only supplied 2 very small shower gel bottles for 2 guests – seemed a bit deliberately cost cutting. Also no extras like cotton wool pads, which for the high end price I would have expected. Overall hotel is very good hence 5 stars from us, but small touches like this make it extra special.
Also, the mini bars are all empty – you have to collect items from reception and charge them to your room – again seems a bit like cost cutting / distrustful, but didn't affect our stay as we would generally not use a mini bar.
Those minor points aside, I would recommend the hotel as rooms are very good, and location great.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ponting2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

It’s a well located hotel with high standards....and the staff make it brilliant! A special thanks to Stephanie at reception and Hilde in the lobby cafe for great responses to our special requests. Every staff member was friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable, quiet with very good facilities. Perfect for any kind of visit to Ghent.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank o2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

After being unable to stay at our booked hotel, (see review of Room and Moor) we were adrift in Ghent with nightfall approaching and my phone was quickly losing battery. We tried to call a couple of other hotels, only to reach recordings in a language we couldn't understand. Finally, Jorrick answered personally at Ghent Marriott and quickly switched to English. He located us in the square in which were standing on the street from our description and expertly guided us to the hotel. He became our personal concierge and even booked our next destination for us. We were so grateful to find this beautiful, historic hotel with it's immaculately clean and comfortable room and professional, personal service from everyone. The restaurant onsite provided a perfectly cooked delicious steak accompanied by the best bread and butter you have ever tasted! As well as delicious side dishes, of course. The hotel is located within walking distance from most of the attractions in Ghent and right across the street from the river, where we caught a delightful boat trip. Our experience with Marriott turned a disaster into a wonderful memory of this charming city. I can't say enough about Jorrick and the rest of the desk staff who cheerfully guided each guest who came in. The hotel is secure, requiring your room key to operate the elevator, providing a safe, restful haven from worries.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the river harbor with beautiful reflections at night.
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TravelingGianelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2017

We chose this Marriott for its location. We were driving Europe and knew we could see Brussels and Bruges within an hour of Ghent. Turns out Ghent was our favorite. Our stay here for 3 nights was really enjoyable, mostly due to the excellent staff. Lotte was terrific signing us in and tending to our needs throughout. Ambassador, Djeff (Jeff) was terrific, advising, making reservations, handling our car and luggage. The room was large and clean and well appointed. Stay here to see these 3 major cities.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn and Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

The hotel is ideally located in the old city centre, you can start exploring the city at once when you exit the hotel on foot or by boat (€7 pp for 40 min, with guide, recommended!).

Very friendly and helpful multilingual staff.
Car park underneath the hotel, although more expensive than the nearby St Michiels car park.
Nice lobby with beautiful art on the wall when you enter through the Korenlei entrance.

We had a very quiet and comfortable room on the 5th floor, although no nice outside view.
The breakfast rooms do offer nice views on Korenlei and river and the breakfast itself was abundant and delicious with very nice smoothies.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lodeenisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews