We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I love the way that the Marriott blends in with the old buildings along the canal but has modern conveniences inside. The staff was very helpful in suggesting places to visit and restaurants as well. We were quite pleased.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,228
    597
    97
    25
    21
See reviews for
376
895
68
334
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a very good experience. Hotel has a great location, where you go out and you are at the canal. All of the attractions have a walking distance. The room was large and quiet so we could sleep without any trouble. I would definitely choose that hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We are very hard to please, but this hotel made us very happy! The staff was wonderful and helped us make several restaurant reservations, gave us great directions, and were just wonderful in general! The rooms were very clean as well is the property itself. The location is fantastic, right in the middle of the town. A lot of people seem to overlook Ghent to go to Brugge, but that would be a huge mistake as Ghent is fabulous! There is onsite parking for a fee, but it beats trying to find street parking.

Room Tip: Recommend getting a room on the top floor like we did as it was very quiet with a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMJacobs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Our experience staying at the Ghent Marriott Hotel for 4 nights was a super. It has a better than great location. The hotel is close to sites, restaurants and the canal that runs along side the hotel is a bonus. Walk out of the hotel (back I think) and there is the canal. Lots of activity around the hotel on the canal side too - but inside your room it's quiet. Our bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. The public/lounge area is very modern and attractive. But better than all of that is the staff. Very very helpful and professional staff. Great at offering directions, good dining recommendation and help with reservations, train schedules and everything they do is with a big smile and great attitude. They were actually fun to be around. From the front desk staff to the bartender to the housekeeping staff - all were so nice. We loved our stay and the Marriott is one reason we loved Ghent!

Room Tip: We didn't get a canal side room but I would if I had to do it over. The view from that side of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXtravelers1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were warmly welcomed into this beautiful hotel set behind the facades of 12th century buildings on the canal in Ghent. I’d asked in my booking that they make sure we had a cool room with working aircon and we got it, it was practically frigid and very much welcome on this very hot day. The room was large and spotless, the bathroom well appointed, large bedside tables and a desk. The bed was 2x2metres, super comfy and there was plenty of room for our adult son on a rollaway. The room at 109 euros was incredibly good value. The only bad point was the fellow who made the coffee in the morning at the bar was a dill, but it was soon put right by the manager and we were on our way after a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Marriott Ghent is ideally situated in the heart of Ghent, at the "Korenlei". Marriott Ghent is an exquisite hotel with large glass parties in the hall, welcoming you with lots of light. In the evening, there are constantly changing small led lights, providing a cosy atmosphere. If you have a business event and your company logo is, say, orange, then the management can fix the lights to one color, orange. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The hotel itself has a very good restaurant with only the best and fresh products. But if you get out of the hotel, there are plenty of other small and good restaurants (restaurant Godot, which is nearby, is best price/quality). You'll feel like a royal staying here: comfort, plenty of activity and yet quiet (since this is a no-car zone). You can visit the whole of Ghent from here, on foot.
REMARK: I don't recommend this hotel during the "Gentse Feesten, every year in Mid-July" if you would like to sleep a bit: the party is going on just outside the hotel, so unless you're a party animal, don't go here.

REMARK2: Are you coming by car? Don't forget to reserve a parking spot if you want to be in the underground parking of the hotel, since that one is very small. There are other underground parkings nearby though (at walking distance).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bepdwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I went on a stag weekend a couple of months ago and there was a few of us that stayed in this hotel. We were very pleased as the location was right on the waters edge, great service and clean, spacious rooms. Breakfast was excellent, especially the waffle machine. Wouldn't say great for a stag weekend, but perfect for couples.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayabusaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
972 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
579 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing