We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Extremely well laid out and spacious room in a modern hotel with an old facade. Right in the middle of the action during the Ghent festival - great location but still quiet in our room. Nice welcome with lots of information volunteered. Very generous buffet breakfast with many choices. Took the tram from the train station and found the hotel easily after a short walk. This is a great choice to stay in Ghent - excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatKal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    582
    91
    24
    21
See reviews for
361
866
65
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on business in August 2013.

The customer service at checkin was fantastic - perfect process, friendly staff, excellently trained. But the hotel peaked there...

A drink in the bar was soulless, especially when knowing there were some great bars very close by.

Dinner was good although expensive and breakfast the next morning was adequate.

I'd always choose a smaller hotel, especially in such a lovely city as Gent...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
213 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

When checking in, I was told that this was my 16th stay and each one of them was just excellent. I love this hotel ! The way it is integrated in the old city of Gent is truly remarkeble. I always take a room in the front and these rooms are so lovely : all modern comfort in a traditional architecture with a stunning view. I just wish I could open the window which is not the case.

Check in and Check out is very efficient and also the breakfast is a true delight in het Korenhuis restaurant.

Quality stayed constant over the years and also the service. You will continue to have me as a very loyal customer !

Anything to improve ? Maybe the gym...

Room Tip: The rooms in the front with view of the Leie are stunning and worth the (extra) money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tk100964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was an excellent hotel and I really enjoyed my stay there.

The main entrance is a typical hotel entrance down a side-street. Once through the door, you're in a huge open-plan area with reception, the bar, some comfy sofas and 2 glass sided lifts. Walk through the communal area and down a narrow brick tunnel, out through the door and you are suddenly in bright sunshine (hopefully) on the canal bank on Korenlai, surrounded by ancient buildings.

It's a couple of minutes' walk from St Michael's bridge, about 5 from Gravensteen and probably 10 from St Bavo's Cathedral. There's a good walk round the town that you can get from Tourist Information which is next to Gravensteen.

My room was absolutely huge for what I considered a really cheap rate via Travelrepublic. It was on the top floor with views over the city roofs. There was a bathroom with bath as well as shower, minibar, safe and everything you'd expect from a 4 star hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and I slept like a log :)

Breakfast was a good-sized buffet with tables available in several little rooms which, in the evening, became a restaurant. It was inclusive in my room price - not sure I would have paid extra for it. I didn't eat in the restaurant, but had a couple of meals in the bar which were cooked in the restaurant kitchens and they were excellent. On Friday evening there was a Happy Hour (or 2 hours) where all drinks were half price, hot nibbles were brought round and there was a pianist/singer. I think many locals were there and the waiters seemed to be serving endless glasses of Prosecco. I personally went for the cocktails even if it was only 5pm.

The reception staff were extremely helpful - in fact all the staff I came into contact with were pleasant and could speak English. Wifi was free all over the hotel although it looks as though you're paying when you log in but, as was explained when I checked in, it's definitely free.

You can catch a tram from the station for a 20 minute/half hour journey and then it's about a 5 minute walk from Korenmarkt to Drabstraat. I bought a CityCard which covered all tram journeys and nearly all of the major museums etc. Tram 1 will take you to nearly all the major tourist spots. There's a small cabin outside the station to buy it but, beware, they close for lunch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
354 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Got a good deal - but two nights get one free. Didn't realise how well placed the hotel is. Right by the old city centre and loss of great bars, sights and restaurants close by.
Beware of car parking - €23 per day - there are 2 car parks in close walking for €10 per day.

Hotel staff pointed this out and let me move my car out of hotel car park within an hour without charging me.

Oh, and it was a brothel in medieval times

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citizen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel at least 2-3 times per year over the last several years, and must say that it is a terrific choice for staying in Ghent.

Service: From the check in, the staff is friendly and accommodating. Haven't ever had an issue with a room that was booked the night before for early am arrival from the states, unlike other hotels in Europe sometimes do. Any laundry needs are taken care of quickly and efficiently.

Location: As others have said here, just an ideal location, right along a canal, an easy walk to almost everything (including multiple chocolate shops). Greate cafes and restaurants, a never ending choice nearby.

Quiet: You will want a canal room for the view, but if it is during the summer, be prepared for noise from the crowd of Belgians hanging out until the wee hours. Interestingly enough, if quiet is what you want, go for one of the rooms along the corridor which overlooks the lobby (kind of an atrium sort of setup).

Restaurant: Had all three meals there. Can get crowded at breakfast, but the buffet is a European style, with eggs and bacon as well, so it has everything you would want. Pricy for lunch and dinner, but lovely food and wine.

Workout Room: On the -1 level, the workout room is dark. Make sure you turn on the a/c if you go down there early in the am, as it gets hot down there.

In all, wouldn't stay anywhere else. Would even consider staying in Ghent for this hotel rather than in Brussels.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet night during the summer, don't request canal view unless you are a heavy sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Constable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had 3 nights in a standard room at this August - a hotel which could not be better placed to visit the medieval city of Ghent. Staff very friendly and helpful, free Wi-Fi (a plus over many Marriott's around the world) and the usual high standard of room in terms of bed comfort, cleanliness etc. Also a excellent breakfast. Having arrived by taxi at the front door the "wow" factor was to walk out the riverside door. We found the 48 hour city card for 25 Euros gave us very good value if you are into the churches and the excellent museums - I also includes a boat trip. Overall a very good weekend in the Marriott and the city only let down by a drunken party on Eurostar in both directions and the low standard of the Brussels Eurostar terminal.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms cost 60 Euros a night more - we found the standard room more than satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing