We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the USA right there in the heart of Ghent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm a big USA lover.
And also a big Ghent lover.
With the Marriott you get both :)
It's a typical USA hotel but i the middle of the great city of Ghent.
And its really downtown. So by location it can't be beat :)
You can even hop-on a boat right in front of the hotel.

The Room is good, with really great beds.
Great Airco also...
But the bathroom is rather dated and it even have a showercurtain...YEK.
Also you must shower in the bath.
I give the room a solid 8 but the bathroom a 6.

The staff is really friendly and the breakfast is really solid.
Also there is very fast free WIFI.
Really loved that.

Overal a great choice in Ghent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

894 - 900 of 2,051 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is in the city center of Ghent, it is a great hotel with onsite parking, and the staff is very attentive to a guest. This historic city is one of the most beautiful I have ever visited, and everything is within walking distance from the hotel. The onsite restaurant and bars are nice if you don't feel like venturing out, they set up tables by the canal for outside seating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jepsenpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a typical Marriott hotel, which means it is really nice although generic (i.e. it looks like a Marriott in any other city). What it's got going for it is its perfect location, which is right on the river in the middle of town. I also really appreciated the free and fast wi-fi in the room.. The only negative was the high cost of on-site parking (23 euro), but I used Marriott points for this stay so parking was my only expense.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EUReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Location could not be better. We came thru the garage from the traffic side of the building and we stepped out to the riverside promenade completely unprepared for the breathtaking sight that received us. I have never been to Ghent and it is a true gem. The hotel is right in the middle of it.

This is a modern and comfortable hotel behind a historic facade. The room, bed, bathroom were all fine, Marriott quality. Breakfast was rich enough served in a nice room looking onto the river/gracht.

The hotel was worth its cost. The bonus was the happy hours in the groundfloor bar on Friday evening, with excellent live piano music. If I need to find some faults, maybe the restaurant is understaffed at breakfast and some guests needed to wait for the tables be cleaned.

Room Tip: The are rooms on the kai side with a view. These may be more expensive though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The Hotel has 2 two entries and a very large lobby which includes an open restaurant. Rooms are large enough : essential furniture and sufficient space for moving around. Beds are relaxing and the environment is quiet. I had a good sleep indeed. Breakfast : classical North European. Marriot is International but here you clearly perceive where you are. In an ancient, fascinating Flemish city.

Room Tip: I visited the Hotel twice in 3 years. No problem with the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Marriott thing might always be good if not predictable, this place, however exceeds all expectations, the location is prefect, right in the historic old town which is simply stunning, it fronts a beautiful canal with all the stunning bridges and architecture to be seen In all directions, the old squares and churches are all within moments walks as with lots of great bars, restaurants and shops.
The hotel has a stunning ancient exterior which hides an incredible interior, the building has a huge stunningly lit open plan lobby and bar area with a massive glass window feature, the rooms are large, well equipped and spotless. The staff were all very friendly and efficient.
I only really have two slight hassles, one was getting here by car, the road name for the hotel is pedestrianised as are many of the roads getting to it are as well event though the bloody sat nav said otherwise.
Other gripe, breakfast, a big buffet offering everything you could want hot and cold, I travelled with two of my kids and they ate free, however this left me with a €25 bill for one, if there were three adults that would be painful, it would be better to eat out locally I would say, also when you compare it to a premier inn all you can eat breakfast in England it was no better, effectively I fed three for €25 not bad but for my younger lad this was €8 ish for a bowl of coco pops.
All in all a great place and I will be back. Room was a two queen bed for the three of us at €125 not over the top for the location, no doubt if you have a members card, book ahead or stay longer this deal can be improved on, however for the location and quality I thought this was reasonable value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_and_Daniel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Have been to Ghent many times before but never stayed here. Brilliant location on the canal. Underground car par quite costly at 23 euros per night but that is my only gripe. Met at reception by the impeccably dressed Davy, who gave us full and clear information about everything we needed to know. Open plan landings which remained cool throughout even though it was very hot. Lovely room lots of wardrobe and drawer space which is lacking in so many hotels now. Ironing board and iron in room which was great as we had been on the road for two weeks by then and things were a little crumpled. Good selection at breakfast with hot and cold food. You could request things like omelettes if you wanted them. Nice lounge and bar area. I would have liked a photo of the girls face when someone asked for a Coors Light, imagine it in a Belgian bar! Very amusing. Head porter, Djeff, was a familiar face from our old hotel and as pleasant and smiling as always. Check out efficient ad cannot wait to return in December.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $143 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing