We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced, terrible stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over priced, terrible stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

After reading the trip advisor reviews, i booked this hotel thinking it would be good. We were given a room whose only window looked onto the main passage of the hotel, so if our curtains were open at any time everybody walking by could look into our room. It was terrible. This room should be used as a store room, not a room for paying guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louisolga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    562
    88
    24
    20
See reviews for
354
846
64
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Very nice hotel, in the perfect location to walk around the beautiful city of Ghent. Literally right on the canal, check-in was fast and easy. Our room was large and clean. Parking was very convenient with their underground parking garage.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodesianRidgeback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were in Ghent for a company conference. The hotel has a beautiful facade built from three old building which have been retained for the old world feel. Our stay in the city was made very enjoyable by the hotel. They were very helpful in providing us with directions to the places of interest. The hotel was clean and comfortable and opens out to the wonderful walks by the canal. Truly memorable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Payalmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Use Marriott a lot in USA,often stay in Novotel and NH in Gent but this weekend Marriott was best value, great rooms, nice location, am lucky that get free breakfast as Gold Marriott card holder, otherwise it is expensive, although great food.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Only complaint would be our suite was not ready on our arrival at around 3 pm and asked to wait in the bar for a short while.Would have been nice if the drinks were complimentry as we were paying 250 Euros per night without breakfast,but no after a short wait of around 45 minutes we booked in and I returned to the bar to book the drinks to our room.
Apart from that a very nice clean hotel.
One other thing the hotel restaurant is closed on Sundays.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

As a travel agent, I use trip advisor a lot, but some must be read with a pinch of salt. I hope my views will help people make a decisive decision if the hotel is ideal for their individual needs.
Getting to the hotel from Ghent railway station - sound advise take a taxi. It is a 10 minute drive from the hotel.
Having spent 2 nights in Marriott Ghent - location is PERFECT.. right there by the river boat tours and located by all the main attractions. If you enjoy history and architecture - this town is packed with it all. Restaurants over the canal are nice but very pricey - venture into Patershol area (10 minute walk) where the locals tent to dine out. Lesson learn't, book a dining time at the restaurant that you want to dine at rather then showing up as getting a table on a saturday night is difficult...
I travelled with my husband and a 3 year old. Our room was large,spacious and clean. Had wonderful views overlooking the glass foyer which kept my little one entertained at night with the different colour lights it illuminates. The Poppi Lounge- bar area host happy hour only on Friday from 5pm - 7pm. Drinks are half price and warm snacks are provided. Service was very good and staff were friendly.
The Korenhuis Restaurant - breakfast is served here and has a variety of fresh breads, waffles machine, warm breakfast and cold breakfast. Worth while having breakfast here..but pricey.

When booking the Marriott Ghent for a deal book 21 days prior to arrival - the price will be far better then a last minute deal.

I have rated children activities average because there is was no activities for my daughter but the Marriott staff spoilt her to bits.

Room Tip: We had room 330 - very large and spacious - ideal for families. Does not have canal views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmmieBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in February. Fabulous hotel, the location is superb. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I checked in and originally I was on the third floor but when I asked where the stairs were as I don't like lifts on my own ( hubby was at work) he moved me to first floor still a front facing room overlooking the canal. He showed me to my room and said if the restaurant is closed just come to reception.
As my hubby is a gold member we normally have access to an executive lounge but this hotel has not got a lounge but gave vouchers for two free drinks and tapas at the bar and also vouchers for breakfast.
The breakfast is at the restaurant. The choice is good and made a good start to the day. The staff are very friendly in the restaurant too.
The room was lovely with a gorgeous view over the canal. The TV did not work and hubby phoned reception and within 5 mins someone came in and sorted the problem. Excellant tea and coffee facilities in the room. A very comfortable room with a nice comfy chair and footstool.
Across from the hotel are lots of nice restaurants and bars. Hubby and I ate at one sitting outside on a cold February night but with the outdoor heaters and blankets to put over your legs it was fabulous. It was really nice and quite romantic which was perfect for Valenties... what a better way to spend it enjoying food outside in candlelight by a canal. The food was delicious and service was excellant.
While there I went to the castle (there is a card that you can buy to get you into several attractions which will save you euros) Also visited the Belfry. Took a canal boat ride.
Had a wonderful time would love to visit thou in the summer, its a very beautiful city. Brussels is about 40 minutes ride thats where hubby had to commute too :) The last day I spent 5 hours in Brussels .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyLou3512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing