We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent service, perfect room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent 4.5 days in Gent and absolutely loved it. The Marriott is perfectly located for touring Gent and the staff could not have been more helpful. I was impressed by all of them but a young man named Frederick was particularly helpful to me and spoke at least 4 languages that I could detect. He went out of his way to explain routes, print train schedules and maps and give me advice on where I wanted to go with alternatives. The restaurant staff was excellent as was the front desk staff. We couldn't have been more pleased and will stay there again on our return trip. Kudos to the Marriott Gent Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

986 - 992 of 2,050 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This beautiful hotel is in the heart of historic Ghent. It is on a stunning canal, and in easy walking distance of all the major sights. Convenient to everything. Great rooms and a wonderful and helpful staff. We used it for a visit to Brugges and it worked out wonderfully. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJFHMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Bang in the middle of Ghent, lovely location. The front is a beautiful old building which faces on to the canal - but behind that is a bright, modern comfortable hotel. Our room was spacious and bright. All the basics that you would expect in a hotel of this nature. Only downside was the bloke playing the piano on Friday night - what can I say! very loud and not needed at all, apparently it was happy hour. Breakfast was pricey - go somewhere else if you want something of better value.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great hotel in a super location waterfront and lots of bars and restaurants close by. Very good rooms .Lift accessa bit fussy (room card required to operate lifts and no stairs option.) Breakfast good and staff friendly but overall perfect for weekend hotel

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeftotheheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Marriot Ghent is a great hotel. Staff at the reception is very friendly and helpfull, rooms are very nice and clean, beds are comfy and the location is just perfect. Right in the center.
We did not use the parking facilities of the hotel. As we are familiar to Ghent, we just parked on the streets nearby (10 minute walk) for 3 euros per 24 hours.
Also did not use breakfast. The buffet is 24 euros per person, which is way too much imo. There's cheaper options though (I think starting from 7 euros), for if you just want some cereal and coffee.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lt_Frank_Drebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is really a very nice hotel located perfectly. I can highly recommend it.

If you stay Friday evening then join the bar from 17-19 (check time to be sure) with piano music and happy hour. It was very popular and we enjoyed it.

If I shall mention some minor details that could be improved it would be the following:

- I have stayed at many Marriott hotels which have better breakfast. It was average for Marriott
- There were too few elevators – and no stairs we could use (which we prefer when having a first floor room).
- It was very difficult to find the hotel (which I can’t blame the hotel but my cars navigation system)

But this is really minor issues. I would definitely choose this hotel again next time I go to the beautiful city Gent

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMODenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff at Reception. All the staff we met spoke very good English which was so helpful to us. We went to Gent so my husband could ride in the Ronde van Vlaanderen (Tour of Flanders) sportive and also so we could watch the Pro's race the next day. The young men at Reception helped us with planning all aspects of our activities - they printed maps, tram and train schedules, event schedules and much more. They even provided us with Tram tickets (which they just added to our hotel bill) to make things easier for us. My husband was able to store his bike box in the luggage room and also use this space to build his bike - the space even had a sink! We chose a room with a king bed and Canal view. Just lovely. Good size room with lots of space to unpack our luggage and really settle in. We had a fridge and a good size bathroom. The hotel is very modern, has all the conveniences and the location is fantastic - right in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrowFlyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range: $135 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ghent Marriott Hotel sits on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent. We opened our doors March 20, 2007. Guests staying with us enjoy comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, and Brixx Cellar Lounge at our property along with Ghent Marriott Hotel restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. Ghent Marriott Hotel has long been considered at the top level of European hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing