We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel at the end of December for 3 nights and it lived up to all the excellent reviews.
It's in the best location in Ghent and the rooms are spacious and well equipped with excellent storage space in the wardrobe and the bathroom. The rooms were also nice and quiet while we were there, even on new years eve.
I really liked the poppi bar , it was stylishly designed and it was a shame we weren't there on a Friday night for happy hour-worth returning for!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatehobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    582
    91
    24
    21
See reviews for
361
866
65
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
180 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel in early December. We wanted a central location to travel to Brussels and Bruges. We were very pleased with the hotel, great location, although our GPS had a bit of a problem finding it. Fortunately, there were people dining outside across the way who pointed us in the right direction. We too were a bit intimidated by the parking garage, very small spaces and not too many of them.
With our platinum membership, we were upgraded to a beautiful room. Our son was traveling with us so we had plenty of room for the three of us, a mini suite. I only had two small complaints with the room. It had been recently renovated but the tub had a bit of mildew in the tile and I had a hard time getting in and out of the tub with my bad knees. The sides were a little high. Also, neither security lock on the door worked. One had been installed backwards and the other just didn't work. But these were minor. Again, the suite was beautiful.
We loved the location. The hotel looked out over the canal and was close enough to walk around town. There were many great restaurants close by. The hotel breakfast buffet was very good, although we did find it a bit lacking on service. But the choices were excellent.
The staff was all very friendly and helpful. We thought the lobby and bar area were quite unique and decorated very nicely for Christmas. Bar staff was great too.
We would definitely go back. Wished we had more time to actually spend in Ghent. I will say that living in a suburb in the US, we were a little nervous about all the bicycles darting in and out of traffic. We had never seen so many bikes and the way they drove in and around the cars.
Would definitely recommend this hotel. We thought the price was very fair.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWO55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Located right in the centre on the canal this is a great place to explore from. The bed was large as was the room. We has no hot water one evening but this was sorted quickly. I stayed for two nights with my husband and would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethstickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were looking forward to staying here: people say very nice things about it. Alas, when my 85-year old father and I arrived at 8.30pm we were told they had no rooms for us. We'd booked some weeks earlier via Expedia, and were fed a story about Expedia bookings not showing up on Marriott's system that day, which I didn't believe. They put us in a much-inferior hotel just down the road, with apologies and a bottle of wine and an offer of a free night at the Ghent Marriott in future. Since we're unlikely ever to visit Ghent again (though it's a fascinating historic city with much to see and a very pleasant waterfront) I pressed for a refund when I got home, which they gave us. The moral would seem to be, book Marriott rooms via Marriott's own website, not Expedia; otherwise you risk being the victim when they discover they've overbooked.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MrLear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons
Level Contributor
278 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Wife took me here for my birthday; left junior with an overnight babysitter. Our platinum upgrade got us a 2nd floor corner room on the canal, just spectacular views with the Christmas lights.

Hotel is a good quality Marriott. Breakfast buffet was superb, possibly worth driving up to Ghent on a weekend morning just for that alone.

Parking was pricey at 23eur vs 10eur off-hotel. However, as we arrived at 2000h, all the public parkhouses were full, and driving around Ghent in the dark & rain at peak dinner hour with all the bikes and pedestrians is a nightmare, so we said the hell with it and parked in the hotel garage, so kind of a good result in the end.

Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NATOPatsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A good Hotel and a great location. It would have been nice to have had a better guide to the hotel by car! I finished up driving through a pedestrian zone thanks to Tom Tom! Looking forward to breakfast but some of the ingredients failed to arrive in time :o(

Apart from that all was fine. The room was nice and the location central.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A great choice for a hotel when in Ghent, right in the middle of old city, but peaceful. Spacy rooms with excellent beds and big flat screen TV (poor selection of channels) in room, live music in the lobby (may disturb if you want peace during Friday afternoon). Free WiFi. Breakfast quite expensive.
Some problems with the heating in bathroom and the shower water temperature varied from cold to warm. But all in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reissu-erkki01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
940 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing