We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveler rating
1,385
651
107
29
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,385
651
107
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationlobby barcanal view roomcanal sideold townbeautiful citycar parkexcellent hoteltrain stationthe heart of the cityroom was largestayed here for one nightper dayexcellent breakfastfacadeatriumeuros
Filter
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We visited the Marriott Ghent Hotel for our son's first birthday and enjoyed ourselves thoroughly over the three days. The location couldn't be better for exploring the beautiful town of Ghent and with a one year old, it proved very convenient for pit stops and nappy changes or even just to relax over s drink in the lovely Poppy bar. The staff were very helpful and arranged a cake and balloons for his birthday. They helped us with directions and pretty much any information we needed. My only complaint is that we had to change rooms twice as the first one had a faulty airconditioner and the second one had the worst odour imaginable coming from its AC vents. Changing rooms with a one year old wasn't easy ... especially twice in three days.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We just stayed one night in Ghent on our way to Brugges but it was certainly a pleasant one. You can't go wrong with Marriott when traveling internationally!

I read prior reviews so I wasn't surprised with the contrast of the facade and the interior of this hotel. I don't care for the red poppy motif in the lobby but that is just my personal taste. I do like that it was within easy walking distance of the sights we wanted to see. We were given a lovely, nicely decorated, large junior suite overlooking the canal. We enjoyed a cocktail at the lively lobby bar which seemed to draw the business guests. The breakfast buffet had a large selection of tasty food.

The staff is well trained, friendly and knowlegeable. Marriott really knows how to do it right in hiring exceptional personnel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calamityjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Absolute perfect location in the center of this beautiful and historic city. Although we were staying here on Marriott points, we were upgraded to a huge suite overlooking the canal. The hotel restaurant was very good but there were limitless options steps away. Canal tours depart right outside the door and could not have been more fun and informative. This is simply a great choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myredjeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

As most of the reviewers already mentioned before, the location is just amazing. The Marriott Gent is directly connected to the Korenlei/Graslei, the canal that runs through Gent's city center. You should not, however, be afraid of too much noise. Only during the festival season (Gentse Feesten in july), you might be bothered by the Pole Pole festival.

And although some Marriott hotels in other cities might be overpriced or so-so when it comes to value for money, this hotel is quite different. Rooms are spacious and clean. Service is amazing.
There is no better base/location to start your exploration of Ghent, whether it is for a night, weekend or week.
And when you take the time to find a good deal, it is really really affordable to spend the night over here.

Roomservice is great. Breakfast is good but a bit pricy. Consider going to the nearby Labath coffee bar or one of the other breakfast/lunchrooms in Gent.
Same for dinner. Gent has a brilliant collection of restaurants, skip dinner in the Marriott restaurant and go to Vintage (Onderbergen) instead.

The NH Gent Belfort is a good alternative to the Marriott (and somewhat cheaper), when you really want to wow yourself (or your travelpartner), go to the Ghent Marriott. You won't regret.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polledemaagt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

marriott is the perfect place to stay at when going to ghent. just outside the hotel is a great view of the canal and the medieval houses. plus of course you get the usual quality rooms and service from marriott.

we also rented a bike for 8 euro for half day to tour around the city. it was the best way to go around.

Room Tip: choose the one with the view of the canal
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candlebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews