We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel in every way!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghent Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have stayed at Marriott Gent for one night and i must say that everything was more than excellent! The hotel first of all has two ways, the front, overlooking a canal and the back where the main entrance is. The hotel staff, that welcome as was more than helpful and welcoming.
The hotel also has a door man and that is something that impressed me.
The reception is located in the lobby so when you check in you see the wonderful glass dome in the lobby. The two outside glass elevators that take you to the rooms is an excellent view also.
The room was very good with lot of space and very nice bathroom. I must give an A+ to the bed.
It is one of the most comfortable bed plus the best pillows i have ever meet in a hotel.
Our room is not one of the rooms overlooking the canal but it is very quit.
One of the best think in Marriott is the breakfast. It is served in the hotel restaurant, poppy, a very beautiful place to have breakfast. The variety, the quality of the food and service of the staff was excellent, really one of the best breakfast i have ever eaten.
I cannot say anything about the location just the best you can have. If you visit Gent during spring or summer you'll be glad choosing Marriott because of its location. I believe like Copenhagen has Nyhavn, Gent has the canal in front of Marriott.
To those who are travelling by car like me I give a tip. If you are looking for a parking and you want something safe and cheep for your car do not bother! Hotels car parking is a good choice but 23€ per day isn't very cheap. Near Marriott, a 3 minutes top walking distance, is Sint Michiels parking. Safe underground parking and only 10€ per day!
If you want to visit Gent, a very very beautiful city, i recommend you to stay at Marriott and you want loose.
Hope you find my contribution helpful to you!

Room Tip: I do not know if it worth the extra 30€ for a room overlooking the canal but choose a room in a top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael-TCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    556
    86
    24
    18
See reviews for
350
832
63
317
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Stayed at the Marriott Ghent for 2 nights mid/end jan 2012. To start with, location of the Hotel couldn't be better, right in the citycentre of Ghent. We got a room on the 4th floor. Rooms are nice and have a standard size. Free wifi in the room and of speedwise quite good. Verry comfy bed. We ordered in the continental breakfast, which was more than what we expected for the price (14€ pp including service charge and vat). Overall very nice stay. Friendly staff.
One downside: their parking garage: too expensive imho.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lotteloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend which was also my first trip to Belgium. I had chosen the hotel based on internet research but what I hadn't realised that it was truly the best location I could have chosen - on the old side of town and right by the river, close to many restaurants, cafes, bars and shops and near transport links (and also walkable to most places you'd want to go - I especially recommend the Design Museum only 2 minutes away).

But aside from the location, the hotel was very clean and modern, with friendly staff, a well maintained gym, very good cocktail bar in the lounge and ample breakfast buffet.

The room I stayed in was among the cheapest options but quite spacious, well decorated and clean with a huge bed and bathtub and well stocked minibar (with plenty of space for some stuff of your own too, which was handy as I was on a tight budget) and views over the river.

I am usually quite partial to a good old B&B or something a bit more off the beaten track, but I also enjoy a bit of well budgeted luxury from time to time, which is what the Marriott provided. I plan to go back to Ghent later this year on business and I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank intergalaktik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

A beautiful hotel combining classic and contemporary architecture, right in the middle of Ghent, overlooking the canal. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, they went out of their way to make our visit special - they accommodated our early check-in without extra charge, made dinner reservations, advised on train times, booked taxis and even provided a power adaptor because we'd forgotten ours. Unusually for Ghent a plentiful and varied breakfast was included in the very reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

The title says it all. We didn't have a canal-facing room - but we paid a discounted rate. The room was very clean, comfortable bed - free wifi. The staff were very helpful. The position couldn't be better for exploring the town or being near the main restaurant area.
Highly recommended - this is non-smoking hotel.
You can rent bikes from the hotel - reasonable rates.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisnDebs08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Ok it's a Marriott and very little differs from one to another. One great plus is the location which has probably the best view of Ghent. The bars and restaurants across the river are the perfect place to relax and it's great to be no more than a minute's stroll away. Don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElHutch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Perfect location, right in the centre of Ghent.
Used the hotel parking, not cheap but worth it.
Friendly staff but thin on the ground,,,especially reception...checking in and trying to get general information, a challenge. Initial contact is very important, not a great idea to be kept waiting in order to check in.
Heating and a/c seems to have mind of its own and can be noisy.
Knowing all this would definitely return and hope slight tweaking will have occurred.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincentdordt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Marriott so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing