We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghent Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Ghent Festival”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

There are times when a room overlooking the canal are NOT what you would want at the Marriott in Ghent. We’ve just stayed there for a couple of nights during the Ghent Festival (16-25 July this year), and our quiet room overlooking the back street was fine, thank you. We knew about the Festival before we booked, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. But we had no idea of its size of the event. Evidently around 4 million people visit the Festival over a 10 day period, and there are around 40 sites of entertainment and music dotted around the city, the biggest of which is sited outside the the Marriott’s back door. For those in the rooms overlooking the canal, the music and party went on until 4am every night! Marriott Reception were providing ear plugs. It was great fun, but we will go back to Ghent again when it’s not festival-time.

Our only niggle about this impressive hotel was the cost of internet access. They were charging 6 euros95 for an hour. I don’t need an hour – I just need to download emails to make sure children, pets and house are OK back home. Internet access is no longer a business service to be charged to expense accounts; it’s a basic need for many people and should be built into the cost of the room like water and electricity. Hotels don’t charge extra for those, do they? TIP: McDonalds in Ghent have free WIFI. Just stand outside like we did and get your messages.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    581
    91
    24
    21
See reviews for
361
866
65
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Going to a 13th century city and staying at a Marriott seemed ridiculous, but this one came so highly recommended on another travel board, I bit. What an inspired choice. The hotel, and the original building front is directly on the canal, you walk in expecting some medieval setting and the lobby explodes in a soaring, sweeping view of glass, with the rooms positioned around the central atrium and the glass elevator zooms you to your floor. Beautiful, if expected rooms and furnishings, large bath, plenty of towels. We took a rate that included breakfast, served in the lobby restaurant that returns you to the 13th century, with an exceptional and delicious spread at pale washed wood tables, Flemish designed tableware and glassware, all overlooking the canal. Not cheap, but a great choice, and central to everything in Ghent. Note: you have to be insane to drive in Ghent. Parking nearly nonexistant, or you will pay dearly.

Room Tip: Doubt there's a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverandharry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel is in a picturesque spot near the river. They’ve done a very nice job of having the hotel fit the local atmosphere even though it appears only about 10 or 15 hotel rooms have a river view (our view was only of a narrow street and other nondescript building).

Staff – they’re great! All the personnel we met were professional, efficient and welcoming.

As for our room it was pleasing but nothing special. Everything was in proper working order and very clean. We did not appear to get an upgraded room although we are Gold members, but the hotel seemed pretty full. At check-in Gold members might wish to ask if an upgraded room is available (we didn’t ask).

There is no concierge lounge, but the hotel makes up for this by giving you cards for breakfast and tapas. The breakfasts were great. The tapas were tasty.

There are a good number of restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel as well as a quality restaurant in the hotel. We found the food at the Italian restaurant, Il Folletto, which is just across the street from the front entrance, to be very tasty and reasonably priced. It may be worthwhile to make dinner reservations beforehand as the restaurants seem to have a tendency to fill up.

A bridge that overlooks the hotel and surroundings is a very scenic spot for viewing and taking pictures, especially at nighttime—like a motion picture setting (if we recall correctly it is on Sint-Michielshelling).

We found the fairly new Ghent City museum to be a worthwhile visit including what seems to us as an effective use of high tech multimedia applications. As of early July, they were still in the process of translating some of the explanations into English.

We rented a car for 1 of our days. For Hertz #1 people we found the Hertz service very efficient, similar to that in America. The Hertz office is a pleasant 15 minute walk from the hotel. Driving in and out of Ghent can be tricky. We’d recommend printing out directions beforehand (perhaps using Google maps or something similar).

We’d be remiss if we didn’t mention that when we had a problem the staff helped us take care of it. We left something at our last hotel in Paris and the front desk staff worked tirelessly with us to get it back. Just before check-out on a Sunday morning, we reserved a cab through the hotel. The cab did not show up and the hotel staff could not get the cab company on the phone, so without our asking the hotel manager drove us to the train station to help us catch our train (irresponsible cab company but great hotel staff)!

I believe, but am unsure, that the high speed internet checked below is free only to gold members and above; others pay a daily fee.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank virginiarapids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

When an experience was good, there is not much to tell!

The perfect location, a friendly staff, good food and a clean, nicely decorated room makes this hotel a recommendable place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed for 4 nights to attend a conference there. It's located in the center of all tourism attractions, right on the photogenic canal and beautiful bridges. Breakfast was included (but not for all plans I guess) and it was decent; fruits were fresh. Bread was good and there was a lot of variety. They offered not only regular coffee but espressos, without extra charge. Rooms are what you expect from a good Marriott; not super-cool or surprising but modern, clean and comfortable overall. My biggest complain is that internet is very expensive! It's like 20 Euro for a day. At least, can they make wireless connection in the lobby area free, since they charge something like 200+ Euros per night for the cheapest room? There is no pool, either, but the gym seems to be well equipped. I chose the rating of 3 as I expect more for the price, but if you don't consider the value for money, rating must be 4.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank makoto n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I spent the first week celebrating our 40th anniversary in this hotel right on the canal in the heart of Old Ghent. Our stay in what may be the most charming city we've ever visited was made even better by the accommodations and staff at the Marriott, Ghent. From the delightful contrast between the hotel facade and interior, to the warmth, patience and sense of hospitality from the staff, I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. These young people fielded every question (and we had a lot of them) and request with unfeigned patience and friendliness. When they found out it was our 40th, they even made us a heart shaped card and cave us a gift of the most decadent chocolates I have ever tasted. We are a well traveled couple and this was arguably the best trip ever, thanks, in part, to the staff at the Marriott, Ghent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xenophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Location, Service, Rooms - this hotel had it all ! We started our 7 day belgian holiday with a 3 night stay at the Marriott Ghent - the hotel is wonderfully located, right on the main canal and has an exit straight onto the canal. The staff is very efficient and friendly. We upgraded our room to a junior suite (the regular rooms were nice as well) - this had a lot of space and was on the top floor, so very quiet as well. The breakfast was nice - we had al a carte, but most people had the buffet ... most outside places open only after 9.30 am - so breakfast in the hotel is a good idea. There are some nice shopping options around the hotel. Ghent is a beautiful town and we had a wonderful stay, made all the more nice by the hotel. Will definitely stay here if we go back to Ghent.

Room Tip: if you want some extra space, go for the junior suite non-canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priyank74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
939 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghent Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent Marriott Hotel

Property: Ghent Marriott Hotel
Address: Korenlei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel on the Korenlei, in the historic centre of Ghent, opened its doors March 20, 2007. The hotel has 150 comfortable guest rooms and suites. There are nine meeting rooms, Poppi Coffee & Wine Bar, Brixx Cellar Lounge and Ghent Marriott restaurant with terrace and view over the river Lys and the historical facades of the Graslei. There is free WiFi. Guests can park in the parking garage under the hotel. The hotel has long been considered the top of European in the field of hospitality and was rewarded in 2013 by Trip Advisor as the best hotel in Belgium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ghent Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing