We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveler rating
1,385
651
107
29
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,385
651
107
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationlobby barcanal view roomcanal sideold townbeautiful citycar parkexcellent hoteltrain stationthe heart of the cityroom was largestayed here for one nightper dayexcellent breakfastfacadeatriumeuros
Filter
Updating list...
1,328 - 1,333 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Location in the historical center of Ghent is one of the best in Europe, even better than canalview in Amsterdam. Few rooms do have a view of the river (overlooking Korenlei) but that doesn´t matter. Just walk outside (rear-exit) and enjoy the medieval houses of Ghent, the water with many terraces, many very good restaurants, the buzz, the sweet hen-parties on saturdays. The rooms, even connecting rooms, are very sound proof. No opening windows, but airco is ok. I liked the small LED-bedlight. Coffee making could do with an upgrade like NH Belfort Ghent (nespresso-machine).
Modern lobby is inviting, even if you don´t like lobbies.The breakfast was served in the restaurant. Breakfast is average for this kind of chain hotel, but no complaints, staff good. Choose ´Poel´ for GPS when arriving by car. Carpark-entrance is in the Drabstraat, not Korenlei. Parking is not difficult. Cheaper public parking is P7, Sint-Michielsplein 8, a 3 min walk.
All in all Marriott beats NH Belfort.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Well, where to start? Perhaps the neighbours breakfst room service trays that have sat in the hallway all day next to our room now and it's 4:30pm? Or that our room was not made up today until the same time? Or that the advertised free wifi in the lobby has now cost 6.95 euros per hour? It's not a Marriott, this place is a joke.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tamarack1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for 3 days on a business trip where the meetings were also held at the hotel.
The business facilites were very good and would recommend for conferences.
The location is perfect, over looking the canal/river.
The room was lovely, with a really comfy bed.. free internet, tea & coffee facilites, mini bar ( extra), mini toiletries, Iron, Hairdryer etc...
We ate in several times at the hotel for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. The food was very good and excellent service, unfortunately I didn't know the price to compare it with budget wise with it being through business.
The hotel has a nice open plan downstairs reception area, with a bar to the side.
Would love to have the opportunity to stay again for pleasure or business.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scubydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

I cancelled my reservation in this hotel. I would have liked to stay on a special occasion in a luxurious room/suite, but manadatory a twin room. This is only possible in this hotel in the standard rooms, all other rooms and suites have double beds. This is an inflexibility I have rarely experienced in other hotels, let alone in a hotel of this "level". The lady tried to convince me that the standard rooms are also nice, but this is the client's choice.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank joop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Great customer service, very clean rooms, Rm 333 on the water offers amazing views despite the smallish window. Would definitely stay here again. As a previous reviewer mentioned, save a few euro and stay in the car park a few hundred meters away for 10 Euro.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GutUpAndGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews