We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very helpful owner and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
brighton
Level Contributor
90 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“very helpful owner and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed 1 night on cycle trip . We arrived very wet. They were very helpful drying our clothes in their dryer and providing any assistance we required .
The hotel is close to the rail station and about 20 minutes from old town. However a tram leaves close to hotel and you can be in centre in 10 minutes. Its on a quiet street so no problem with noise in any of the rooms . The rooms are modern and spacious with comfortable beds. pillows could be improved but over
all linen of good quality.
Breakfast was ample and varied .
I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    113
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
74
220
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a group of 5. Really friendly staff, one of the two brothers who run the place gave us some great advice on where to to eat and drink in Ghent as well as allowing us to check in early. Would definitely stay here again, good rooms, good breakfast and superb service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We reserved at this hotel due to its proximity to the Sint Pieters Train Station, as we were going to be coming by train from Brussels Airport. Due to a one-day strike by the railway workers, we ended up renting a car to get there and couldn't seem to find the hotel. My husband parked the car and started walking to see if he could see it. A few minutes later, he returned with a polite and outgoing young man who jumped in the back seat and began to give directions to my husband as to how to get to the hotel's parking garage. (It was very convoluted as there is a massive reconstruction going on in the entire area.) When we arrived at the hotel, the young man jumped out of the car and went to the front desk to check us in; it turns out he was one of the brothers who owns and operates the property! This was just the beginning of three days of extraordinary service we received as guests at the Carlton. Both brothers go out of their way to help with directions, attraction and restaurant recommendations, and anything else they can do to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
We had a lovely room on the fourth floor that was not only clean, bright and well-appointed, but wonderfully dark and quiet at night for sleeping. As mentioned, the location is fabulous; easy walking distance to the train station and to Old Town, and just steps from a tram that runs every few minutes and takes you anywhere you want to go. Ghent itself is a lively city with plenty to do and see, and is every bit as beautiful as Bruges without the glut of tourists! We highly recommend the city and this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed as part of our honeymoon and from our first arrival were treated with care and attention making us feel special and welcome. The hosts are polite, friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too difficult and they spent time explaining the city and how to get around.
Our room was amazing, top floor, open claw foot bathroom and roof terrace, simply great.
We loved the touches like the water and the fresh flowers it really made the stay. Also really liked the breakfast, great value and heaps of it.
Would definitely stay again if in the area.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Difficult_daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

As other reviews have indicated the two brothers who run this hotel could not be more helpful and friendly to all the international visitors. Handily placed but a few minutes from St Petiers station and pretty quiet, the hotel is very clean with an excellent breakfast for only 12 euros. I had a large room on 4th floor, comfortable bed, bathroom with decent bath, TV with multiple channels, excellent wi-fi, free bottles of water, tea/coffee machine. Pity about the pillows and lack of a room safe but those are about the only cons to note.
Whilst ideal for the station there are few decent places to eat nearby and you have to take tram into the centre (the hotel can offer you transport tickets !)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The aim of two young brothers that own and run the hotel is to create a personal, friendly, customer focussed experience and they have definitely succeeded. Our welcome was genuinely warm and we were given a quick history of Ghent, supplied with maps and a guide to the ‘must-sees’ over a coffee. We also received practical information such as where to eat out and about public transport – Stephen gave us some tram tickets on a use or return basis which was great and paid for on the street parking for our car until there was room in the hotel garage. The Hotel is well situated a couple of hundred yards from the train station yet it is easy to find by car (TomTom address is accurate), in a nice part of town with the historic centre some 25 mins on foot or a short,£1 tram ride away. It would make a really good base to explore other towns in the region by rail – we’re thinking about doing this in the future. Parking is good value at 10 Euro per day as on-street is 3 euro for max 5 hours per ticket. The hotel is modern and spotless with spacious rooms and provides an excellent breakfast. We stayed in top floor room 602 which has the bonus of a terrace overlooking the street. Try the surprisingly good Paul’s boutique just opposite down the road towards the station for excellent burgers/veggie burgers if you need a quick bite. Ghent is a lovely place to stay and visit, so much better imo than the overcrowded, artificial, tourist infested Bruges.
It would be inconceivable that we would stay anywhere else if we ever returned to Ghent.
Totally recommended without hesitation and well deserving of its rankings.

Room Tip: Rooms 601 & 602 have a really cool balcony. They cost a bit more but are worth it if the weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MistaMeldrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel based on reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. This hotel is located with a short walk ( less then 5 mins) from Gent St Petiers and close to the tram stop for the number 1 line. We arrived earlier then the check in time but nothing was too much trouble. We left our luggage with reception - we were given our room keys we were given 2 maps of Gent - 1 with details of which areas to go, which routes were good to walk etc... We also purchased our tram tickets from the hotel which were cheaper then buying from the tram stops. We were on the 5th floor for 2 nights. The rooms where massive, tea & coffee, still and sparkling water (replaced when required) and very a good sized fridge. Hair dryer, bathroom full of shampoo etc... Breakfast was excellent - very good selection of - well everything! Eggs are cooked to order and to your liking! Wi-Fi is free also. Nothing is too much trouble. Should we be in the area again or visiting anywhere local we would stay again! Full recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were in room 501 & 502 on the front of the hotel good rooms, not much noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 1,830 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#1 Family Hotel in Ghent
#1 Business Hotel in Ghent
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing