We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, fantastic service”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good hotel, fantastic service”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here in a family room (3 persons). Large room, clean with all amenities needed (including mini bar with room to store own drinks or the complementary bottles of water provided in the room).
The service is really outstanding. The staff takes all the time to explain anything you'd like to know about Gent and how to get to the city centre. They also provided us with tram tickets (unstamped) which we could return the next morning in case not used (in our case we used them on the way back, we walked to the city centre which is easy to find and about a 15 minute walk).
Great breakfast with fresh fruit, juice, eggs to order etc.
Garage comes at a cost (10 euros) and need to be reserved, but is inside and very safe.
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJU46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    126
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
258
20
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel Carlton was a relaxed, welcoming and comfortable hotel, very convenient for the train station and perfectly placed for exploring the delightful city of Ghent. We had a great time, and will most certainly come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisitortoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Just had a wonderful stay here, hosted to just the right extent by the friendly and helpful owners. Positioned a minute from the train station, but with no feel of a station hotel and providing modern styled, clean rooms and an exceptional breakfast I would happily recommend this for business or leisure stays.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Staggered G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Every part of our stay in this hotel was first rate. You can tell that the brothers who own this hotel take great pride in providing an outstanding experience for all of their guests, even the toddlers! The rooms were top notch; clean and quiet. The breakfast was delicious, and the hospitality was impressive. All others in the hotel businesses should use them as the model for quality service. We really can't say enough.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jollygunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Plus good restaurants nearby and very walkable to city center sites. The staff is most helpful with any and all questions and goes out of their way to please. The breakfast is excellent. The only reason I didn't give an "excellent" rating is that the maids left our room unlocked after cleaning.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderlust9802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Every hotel in the world should be like the Hotel Carlton. Brothers Steven and Jeffrey bend over backwards to make your stay the best stay that you ever had. It is sort of a combination between a "boutique" hotel and a B&B. It may not be the cheapest place in Gent, but the rooms are huge and you get a varied breakfast that fills you for the day. They pride themselves in making you the eggs that you are happy with. They used a special salt to make them taste better that my wife loved. They even went to the store and bought us a few cans to take home. It is a short walk from the train station which was perfect for us as we were touring Belgium via day trips to nearby towns (Bruge, Iepers and Ostende). We were so impressed with Gent, we actually spent an extra day touring Gent rather than going to Antwerp. Gent is just as lovely as it's competitor, Brugge. Jeffrey told me that the price is the same year round regardless of how busy or slow the hotel business is. Two big thumbs up for the Hotel Carlton.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We were in town for a show and after telling the frontdesk that we would be back really late (around 5 in in the morning) we were told to sleep for as long as we wanted and that we would not be disturbed by the cleaning crew. Reception was one of the warmest we have ever experienced. Highly recommended, and on top of it all; excellent beds, even for really tall people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixxie_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
2,127 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.6 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#1 Business Hotel in Ghent
#1 Family Hotel in Ghent
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing