We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Something different”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

A good but nice 30 min walk to centre, or direct tram very close. Parking inside the hotel available, better book it in advance. The hotel itself is OK, but the real plus are the attentive service of the young people working there - really cannot even be compared to big chain hotels - and the breakfast, as i like it, more on quality than quantity. Again, not the usual large poor quality buffet of large chains, but freshly made orange juice, eggs and fruit at the right temperature! My room was large, WIFI worked well, the room itself is not dated and nor brand new. I guess they have some smoking rooms, mine didn't smell of smoke at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    124
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
248
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel within a few minutes walk of St Pieter's station - but we never heard the trains from our spacious room on the third floor at the front of the hotel.

The breakfast is a delight with freshly pressed orange juice and cooked items prepared to order for you in the adjacent kitchen.

What raises the rating of this hotel is the helpful nature and friendly personalities of the three brothers who run it, their knowledge of Ghent - where to eat, where to go and how to get there is the icing on the cake.

When we return to Ghent we'll happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonHotelGent, Manager at Hotel Carlton, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
It is a delight to read that you liked our guidance! We try to point out the nice places as much as possible so you can enjoy our great town to the fullest!

As for your kind words about our breakfast, we really try to make our breakfast as fresh as possible and vary throughout the season. I’m glad you enjoyed it, thank you!

We are definitely looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Jeffrey Van Vooren
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We highly recommend the Carlton Hotel, Gent. A family hotel run by 3 brothers, we were warmly welcomed. Nothing was too much trouble for our host. Our room was large, modern and scrupulously clean. The hotel is a couple of minutes from the major train and bus station. A modest walk to the old part of Gent where the tourist attractions are or just a few minutes on the tram. You can enjoy a canal walk most of the way. Breakfast was fine and with freshly squeezed orange juice which you don't often see these days. Another bonus was the on-site undercover parking. If you want to feel welcome, try the Carlton hotel. Chris and Sandra Weston.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SilkroadTraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is well located close to St Pieters station and there are some great restaurants in the area. It is on tram 1 which is ten minutes to the city centre or a 30 minute walk.
The hotel has 24 rooms, our room was very good size, well designed, modern and decent bathroom.
Staff were all extremely friendly and incredibly helpful.
Good breakfast. I cannot fault the hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmalone857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durance, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Good location near railway station and tram to go to the center of ghent in 10 minutes. They have private parking and Wifi. Very nice spacious and clean rooms, Subliem breakfast and very, very friendly staff. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Although very little noise, rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddyDurance_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
97 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Unlike some near-train-station hotels this is a quiet location, well presented hotel with very friendly staff, spatious rooms and a good breakfast!

Close to tram stop too - so it is easy to travel to the centre. Free Wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Hotel came recommended by Hotelier in Bruge. We got a great rate that included breakfast. Location very close to train station as well has having the tram practically out the front door. Room more than adequate, very clean, up to date and all the amenities. Hosts were perfect and extremity helpful. Would recommend it to anyone and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: As usual i like to look at the city. See what is happening...I can always look at a garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-GCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#1 Business Hotel in Ghent
#1 Family Hotel in Ghent
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing